Spooky Calzone Snake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was just okay. If I were to make this again, I would add tomato sauce and make individual snakes. I did like the idea, it was very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
5 stars for such a FUN creative idea! 5 stars for a good base recipe to customize! This served everyone at our Halloween party, with enough for seconds, and it was just plain fun to cut into and eat. The kids really enjoyed helping to make it - I made & rolled out the dough and they layered on cheese, pepperoni, spices and olives before we sealed it and "painted" it with egg-yolk-food-coloring paint. We even put the fillings into "zones" and tried to make a gross Halloween anatomy lesson out of it with the pepperoni zone being the intestines, the black olives being the "spleens" etc. Then it was extra giggle-y and gross when I could ask them which PART of the snake they wanted to eat! Sauce for dipping makes it extra delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Delicious and so easy to make. Especially since I bought prepared pizza dough. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Made this tonight with ham & left out pepperoni, peppers, & olives. Gonna try it next time with more mozzarella,but it was a big hit & fun & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made this for my intended halloween dinner but towards the end, I decided to shape just like a normal calzone. I omitted egg mixture for the dough and the crust came out perfect. I also added cooked sausage into the mixture. Very good. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This looked great and tasted great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Stephen
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I loved this idea! I didn't remember to come back on here and get the actual recipe you used though. I happened to have another All Recipes one on a cue card: Jay's Signature Pizza Crust, so used that as my crust and filled it with mozzarella, pepperoni and pizza sauce. I decorated my snake with watered down food colouring. While cooking, it exploded in a couple part, but we just it guts, and enjoyed it! Tasty, and a great addition to my Halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Came out really cute! I cheated and used Pilsbury pizza dough, and it was so easy! It comes out in a long layer, so you just stretch it and then stretch it width-wise a little, put the filling in the middle, and seal it up. I used egg whites with green food coloring to make a green snake. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was it was just a tad dry. It was probably me. I may have cooked it a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great idea! Can also use this same technique and make a wreath for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States