Split Pea and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This is really an excellent recipe. I've had split pea soup before, but have never really loved it. I bought some kielbasa on special this week and was looking for a good recipe to try. This was perfect! My husband and I both agree we will never have "regular" split pea soup again. Here is what I changed in the recipe: used chicken broth instead of beef, and used turkey kielbasa instead of regular. It was fantastic. I did have to add a fair amount of water; the recipe didn't say to cover the pot while simmering so some of the liquid boiled off. Next time, I'll be sure to cover it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I really enjoyed this version of split pea soup. My mom always made it with ham hocks when I was growing up, but I was trying to find something with more meat flavor in it. This was perfect! My family loved it, including my 17-month-old son. I plan to stick with this recipe whenever I make split pea soup in the future. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
We started the peas cooking on their own, then browned the sausage and onion, with a clove of garlic, and drained the grease. Judging by the amount of fat we poured off, I'm glad we did, or the soup would have been too greasy. Then we poured the peas in and finished them cooking with everything and pureed everything pretty smooth in the food processor at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
We don't have any young kids, so I rate this receipe "Great"!! I give it **** stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This soup had great flavor, but (I don't know what I did wrong...) I could not get a good consistency. I followed the recipe as directed and got the last instruction that said "simmer until peas are soft but NOT mushy." I had never made split pea soup before, so I did not expect that it would take 2 HOURS for the peas to get soft. The liquid kept evaporating so I added more water periodically (make sure you cover with a lid), but I was never quite sure what the "soft but not mushy" consistency was supposed to be. When I have eaten split pea soup before it was very smooth, but was this supposed to be a little chunky? I cooked until I thought the peas were done but was very frustrated by the unexpected length of time it took (we ate a late dinner last night). The taste was enjoyable and we liked the kielbasa sausage flavor, but we did not like the consistency of the soup. Perhaps I did something wrong, but I wanted to write this in case anyone else comes across this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
OK.. I made this one too... great !! I too used the turkey sausage and used 2 large onions with lots of carrots and celery. Just kept adding more beef broth to make it the perfect consistance. Great!! thanks for this recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Used 3 cans of low sodium beef broth and 1 cup of water. Left out the bay leaf. Did not puree meat at beginning, just blended everything at the end with the stick blender. Did not need to add extra salt. Served with Double Quick dinner rolls from this site. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious, nutritious, economical, easy! My substitutions: two Knorr bouillon cubes and 4 cups water in place of broth, Summer sausage in place of kielbasa sausage, 16 oz yellow split peas, omitted bay leaf and salt. I also added extra water to thin soup, it was very thick. Can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. Thanks R. Austin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
A lot of good flavor considering how simple this recipe is. I used yellow split peas and a 32 ounce box of chicken broth, but otherwise followed the recipe. I found I did not need to add salt. I recommend no extra salt until the soup is cooked and you can taste for seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I gave it only 4 stars for a couple of reasons. First, the amount of broth needed to be almost tripled to make it soup consistency. Also, the puree of sausage and broth was rather gross looking. We also found that if we put the soup in the food processor after it was all done, that we liked it better. It is a low fat - low calorie split pea soup which is a good alternative to those soups with cream or potato added. We will make this again with the changes noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States