Split Pea and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
A lot of good flavor considering how simple this recipe is. I used yellow split peas and a 32 ounce box of chicken broth, but otherwise followed the recipe. I found I did not need to add salt. I recommend no extra salt until the soup is cooked and you can taste for seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Excellent. I would add more stock next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Sakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This is the first time I've tried Split Pea Soup. I didn't have any beef broth so I made it with chicken broth. It still came out great. I enjoyed it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This recipe was fantastic. My kids even liked it. I use low sodium broth. I never add salt to this recipe. The sausage and chicken broth is already plenty salty. If I use regular broth then it becomes to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Delicious and very flavorful. Nice change from the ordinary split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is an excellent soup...I love a big batch on Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I've never tried split pea soup before. I've actually been afraid to try it until now. This recipe was SOOOO GOOD!! Even my kids liked it. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This turned out really good. I did not make the puree, and I ended up having to add more liquid to this at the end. But that is probably because my bag of split peas was 16 oz. And I added a dash of garlic to it. Really good, and we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
YUMMY! I used 3 cans of chicken broth and I also added celery!! I'll never use ham again!!! The kielbasa gave it a wonderful flavor. thankyou!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This soup had great flavor, but (I don't know what I did wrong...) I could not get a good consistency. I followed the recipe as directed and got the last instruction that said "simmer until peas are soft but NOT mushy." I had never made split pea soup before, so I did not expect that it would take 2 HOURS for the peas to get soft. The liquid kept evaporating so I added more water periodically (make sure you cover with a lid), but I was never quite sure what the "soft but not mushy" consistency was supposed to be. When I have eaten split pea soup before it was very smooth, but was this supposed to be a little chunky? I cooked until I thought the peas were done but was very frustrated by the unexpected length of time it took (we ate a late dinner last night). The taste was enjoyable and we liked the kielbasa sausage flavor, but we did not like the consistency of the soup. Perhaps I did something wrong, but I wanted to write this in case anyone else comes across this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States