Split Pea and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
OK.. I made this one too... great !! I too used the turkey sausage and used 2 large onions with lots of carrots and celery. Just kept adding more beef broth to make it the perfect consistance. Great!! thanks for this recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Used 3 cans of low sodium beef broth and 1 cup of water. Left out the bay leaf. Did not puree meat at beginning, just blended everything at the end with the stick blender. Did not need to add extra salt. Served with Double Quick dinner rolls from this site. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious, nutritious, economical, easy! My substitutions: two Knorr bouillon cubes and 4 cups water in place of broth, Summer sausage in place of kielbasa sausage, 16 oz yellow split peas, omitted bay leaf and salt. I also added extra water to thin soup, it was very thick. Can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. Thanks R. Austin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
We started the peas cooking on their own, then browned the sausage and onion, with a clove of garlic, and drained the grease. Judging by the amount of fat we poured off, I'm glad we did, or the soup would have been too greasy. Then we poured the peas in and finished them cooking with everything and pureed everything pretty smooth in the food processor at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Great comfort food and easy on the budget. I soaked the peas covered in water overnight. Just left it on the counter and then rinsed them in the morning. Like others, I also used chicken stock and omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Just dumped evrything in a pressure cooker and gave two whistles. Used veggie sausage. Great dinner soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADDIEDUNN
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was exceptionally good soup. I will cut down on the sausage next time I make it, though. But very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe is simply amazing! I LOVE the use of the sausage over the ham... such a neat variation! We couldn't eat enough of this! I've made it several times, twice in a normal pot and once in the pressure cooker, and all were perfect. I liked the idea of making it with kielbasa so much I also tried it with lentils rather than split peas and added some spinach and diced tomatoes. 6 Minutes on high pressure in the pressure cooker and it was amazing! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was a very good recipe. I gave it only 4 stars for a couple of reasons. First, the amount of broth needed to be almost tripled to make it soup consistency. Also, the puree of sausage and broth was rather gross looking. We also found that if we put the soup in the food processor after it was all done, that we liked it better. It is a low fat - low calorie split pea soup which is a good alternative to those soups with cream or potato added. We will make this again with the changes noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Good simple easy to prepare food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States