Split Pea and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe was super tasty! I made a few modifications like everyone else. I combined this recipe with the recipe that was on the back of the bag of split green peas I used to make this soup. I used 1lb of split green peas, 1 cup diced frozen carrots, 3 small potatoes, ½ cup fresh celery. I also threw in 15oz of bush’s baked beans, and 1.5 cups of 2% milk. I added in 2 little cubes of chicken flavored bullion in the beginning to a boiling 4-5 cups of water. I also added in 1 smoked chicken sausage and a can of ready-made split pea soup to thicken the soup up along with 1 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I went by the recipe. I only added water to the consistency that I wanted. The best I have ever made. Family loved it! And it was exactly perfect for brutally cold night. Don't forget your favorite bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Liked this a lot! Nice twist to your split pea soup. But I mixed some of the steps up: I started with the carrots, onion in the broth and brought to a boil. i skipped the purée step altogether and just cut the kielbasa up in small pieces. I the added it to the boiling broth, and added the split peas. Still got mushy and wasn't the most pretty of dishes but I have yet to see a "pretty" split pea soup recipe. Taste was great and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe was delicious. The only difference is I used Mustard Greens instead of Spinach and Chicken Broth instead of Water. I cooked it on top of the stove also. It was incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe except I left out the onions and loved the soup. My family said it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very tasty. I used chicken broth instead of beef. Added a few more spices, such as parsley, garlic, thyme, and oregano. Would have been 5 stars if the consistency was better. I followed the recipe and made the adjustments other people said and this was not a thick and creamy soup at all. Next time I will stick with the crock pot version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I live in a high altitude area (5000ft) soI had to adjust for making the peas-everything else was quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
OK.. I made this one too... great !! I too used the turkey sausage and used 2 large onions with lots of carrots and celery. Just kept adding more beef broth to make it the perfect consistance. Great!! thanks for this recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Used 3 cans of low sodium beef broth and 1 cup of water. Left out the bay leaf. Did not puree meat at beginning, just blended everything at the end with the stick blender. Did not need to add extra salt. Served with Double Quick dinner rolls from this site. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious, nutritious, economical, easy! My substitutions: two Knorr bouillon cubes and 4 cups water in place of broth, Summer sausage in place of kielbasa sausage, 16 oz yellow split peas, omitted bay leaf and salt. I also added extra water to thin soup, it was very thick. Can't wait to eat the leftovers for lunch. Thanks R. Austin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States