Split Pea and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I tried this recipe in the slow-cooker today and it was wonderful! I chopped the onions and sauteed them in a skillet until tender, then added my sliced smoked sausage to the skillet to brown it a little before adding about a quarter of that mixture to the blender with some of the broth (I used chicken broth instead of beef). Then I just added all the ingredients to the slow-cooker and cooked on low for 6 hours. The peas DID turn out mushy, but that's just how I like it. If you prefer yours to be more firm, you could just cut the cooking time a bit. I made cornbread to go with it and my husband and 6-year-old daughter devoured everything! I will definitely be making this again. I will probably try it with homemade chicken broth next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Will be deleting from recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Made this recipe and it turned out awesome. I used a Jalapeno Cheddar Elk Kielbasa my dad's friend that was fairly crumbly, and added a bit of red curry powder instead of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe was super tasty! I made a few modifications like everyone else. I combined this recipe with the recipe that was on the back of the bag of split green peas I used to make this soup. I used 1lb of split green peas, 1 cup diced frozen carrots, 3 small potatoes, ½ cup fresh celery. I also threw in 15oz of bush’s baked beans, and 1.5 cups of 2% milk. I added in 2 little cubes of chicken flavored bullion in the beginning to a boiling 4-5 cups of water. I also added in 1 smoked chicken sausage and a can of ready-made split pea soup to thicken the soup up along with 1 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I went by the recipe. I only added water to the consistency that I wanted. The best I have ever made. Family loved it! And it was exactly perfect for brutally cold night. Don't forget your favorite bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Liked this a lot! Nice twist to your split pea soup. But I mixed some of the steps up: I started with the carrots, onion in the broth and brought to a boil. i skipped the purée step altogether and just cut the kielbasa up in small pieces. I the added it to the boiling broth, and added the split peas. Still got mushy and wasn't the most pretty of dishes but I have yet to see a "pretty" split pea soup recipe. Taste was great and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe was delicious. The only difference is I used Mustard Greens instead of Spinach and Chicken Broth instead of Water. I cooked it on top of the stove also. It was incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe except I left out the onions and loved the soup. My family said it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very tasty. I used chicken broth instead of beef. Added a few more spices, such as parsley, garlic, thyme, and oregano. Would have been 5 stars if the consistency was better. I followed the recipe and made the adjustments other people said and this was not a thick and creamy soup at all. Next time I will stick with the crock pot version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I live in a high altitude area (5000ft) soI had to adjust for making the peas-everything else was quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States