Split Pea and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Nasty! Will be deleting from recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Made this recipe and it turned out awesome. I used a Jalapeno Cheddar Elk Kielbasa my dad's friend that was fairly crumbly, and added a bit of red curry powder instead of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade Morris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe was super tasty! I made a few modifications like everyone else. I combined this recipe with the recipe that was on the back of the bag of split green peas I used to make this soup. I used 1lb of split green peas, 1 cup diced frozen carrots, 3 small potatoes, ½ cup fresh celery. I also threw in 15oz of bush’s baked beans, and 1.5 cups of 2% milk. I added in 2 little cubes of chicken flavored bullion in the beginning to a boiling 4-5 cups of water. I also added in 1 smoked chicken sausage and a can of ready-made split pea soup to thicken the soup up along with 1 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I went by the recipe. I only added water to the consistency that I wanted. The best I have ever made. Family loved it! And it was exactly perfect for brutally cold night. Don't forget your favorite bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Liked this a lot! Nice twist to your split pea soup. But I mixed some of the steps up: I started with the carrots, onion in the broth and brought to a boil. i skipped the purée step altogether and just cut the kielbasa up in small pieces. I the added it to the boiling broth, and added the split peas. Still got mushy and wasn't the most pretty of dishes but I have yet to see a "pretty" split pea soup recipe. Taste was great and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe was delicious. The only difference is I used Mustard Greens instead of Spinach and Chicken Broth instead of Water. I cooked it on top of the stove also. It was incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe except I left out the onions and loved the soup. My family said it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very tasty. I used chicken broth instead of beef. Added a few more spices, such as parsley, garlic, thyme, and oregano. Would have been 5 stars if the consistency was better. I followed the recipe and made the adjustments other people said and this was not a thick and creamy soup at all. Next time I will stick with the crock pot version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarHammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I live in a high altitude area (5000ft) soI had to adjust for making the peas-everything else was quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
OK.. I made this one too... great !! I too used the turkey sausage and used 2 large onions with lots of carrots and celery. Just kept adding more beef broth to make it the perfect consistance. Great!! thanks for this recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Rockport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States