Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good! I also (like some others) did my hambone in the crockpot overnight. It was very flavorful and very easy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I added carrots, potatoes and dumplings. Spices - bay leaves, cloves and thyme. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I had lots of broth when I cooked the bone and ham, so I used 2 20-oz packages of split peas, 2 onions and 2 carrots (that was about a cup of carrots). I sautéed the onion and carrots together in a little bit of olive oil and added them to the broth once I removed the fat from cooling it all night and heated it up. I threw in the peas, and the ham, and because I had used left over honey-baked ham, I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce a teaspoon of thyme, a dash of Cholula hot sauce and 3 bay leaves to cut the sweetness a little. I heated it up a little bit, but had to stop due to unexpected company. Today I started it back and put it on low on the stove and left for about an hour and a half. Well, luck was with me, because I accidentally have hit the button on the stove and it was on High the whole time I was gone! I thought for sure the peas would be stuck to the bottom of the pot – but all that happened was the peas broke down and the soup was done! I did run the immersion blender around a little just to make sure most of it was liquidated. I can’t believe how lucky I was, and also because this soup is GREAT. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I make my pea soup using low salt chicken broth and Italian sausage, however, I made a spiral ham recently and decided to use it for this recipe. I didn't think this had enough seasonings and needed to add more to get the flavor I wanted. For me personally, this was just way too salty, but my family thought it was pretty good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
First time making pea and ham soup. Very simple and very delicious - my very picky husband adored it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Townsville, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Very pleased with this recipe, my first time to make pea soup. I followed suggestions to cook ham bone in my crock pot and then used the stock for the soup base, adding sauteed garlic and carrots with the split peas. A pleaser at lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This soup was great. The only change I made was to add another bag of split peas. I like my pea soup thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I used a part tip from 2/28/06 review and simmered the bone overnight in crockpot, refrigerated and defatted. To the 16 cups of ham base, followed recipe adding two bay leaves and another pound of peas...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
We love this soup! I triple the ingredients to ensure there is enough for a day or 2 of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Awesome ... ! I gave this a 4 Star rather than a 5 because it was a great base soup and I tweaked it for more flavour (so 1 star belongs to me) LOL I filled a large stock pot with water and put in my ham bone. I cut up lots of ham in order to get rid of it (probably 1/8 of a shank of ham. I made the recipe pretty much as it was written except I doubled the celery & carrots due to the large pot I was making. I added a waxed carton of chicken broth, an envelope of vegetable Oxo granules, a bay leaf, some Season All seasoning and some (1/4 tsp) of crushed garlic (the jar kind). I used 1 small bag of whole yellow peas and 1/2 small bag of split yellow peas which I forgot to presoak but it turned out okay and about 1/4 cup of barley. It is sooooo good! We're eating this as a late lunch and will have it for dinner along with some nice, fresh Italian bread. Another keeper recipe. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States