Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was SUPER tasty. I started the recipe in the morning to have ready for dinner and it worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEND

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This came out excellent, very tasty and I added celery and basil. I am definitely making this again. I have left overs, which, I will be taking for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was good, but Im made the mistake of adding more peas because I like a thicker soup. Please don't make this mistake, as my wholoe batch is ruined. The flavor was pretty staight forward; no surprises here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
AMAZING. I'm a college student and ended up not being able to go home for Easter dinner, so I made my own. I used the left over ham for this recipe and it was amazing. I ate this soup for a week and never got sick of it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
The best way to serve split pea soup, after cooking the onion carrots, celery and split peas, with or without the ham hock (if cooked in a stock pot in a 325 oven, there is no chance of scorching on the bottom) is my mother's special step. You cook the split peas until they are just smushy, take out enough for about 6-8 servings, or just go ahead and pour a can of evaporated milk into the soup just before serving. Reheat in the microwave to prevent scorching. It is just the best!Evaporated milk makes the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is a great soup, I made it in my slow cooker. Was a great hit with my staff at work, they are nagging me for more. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
The flavor was outstanding. My Dad used to make split pea and ham soup. It is as I remembered except for the carrots. They didn't change the flavor that much, but added a little color to contrast the green peas. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very good! I also (like some others) did my hambone in the crockpot overnight. It was very flavorful and very easy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslisashoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I added carrots, potatoes and dumplings. Spices - bay leaves, cloves and thyme. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I had lots of broth when I cooked the bone and ham, so I used 2 20-oz packages of split peas, 2 onions and 2 carrots (that was about a cup of carrots). I sautéed the onion and carrots together in a little bit of olive oil and added them to the broth once I removed the fat from cooling it all night and heated it up. I threw in the peas, and the ham, and because I had used left over honey-baked ham, I added a dash of Worcestershire sauce a teaspoon of thyme, a dash of Cholula hot sauce and 3 bay leaves to cut the sweetness a little. I heated it up a little bit, but had to stop due to unexpected company. Today I started it back and put it on low on the stove and left for about an hour and a half. Well, luck was with me, because I accidentally have hit the button on the stove and it was on High the whole time I was gone! I thought for sure the peas would be stuck to the bottom of the pot – but all that happened was the peas broke down and the soup was done! I did run the immersion blender around a little just to make sure most of it was liquidated. I can’t believe how lucky I was, and also because this soup is GREAT. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States