Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Made in the slow cooker. Placed the ham bone in with water one day and the next day let it cook with all the ingredients. Came home from work and meal ready with a nice loaf of crusty italian bread. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Ok but not terrific, needs spicing up and a lot more cooking time to thicken. Good way to use up the ham though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is the same recipe I have been using for many years but as a single man I do not always have a ham bone on hand. Recently I have been buying smoked turkey parts (legs and wings) and I find that the soup is as tasty as a ham based soup and probably a little healthier. I also add two potatoes cubed with the carrots. Bon appitite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I put my ham bone in the crockpot and simmer overnight. In the morning, discard the bone. I like to set the crock pot in the freezer to let the fat come to the top and then when the fat is hardened I scoop it off. I then add all the other ingredients (except pepper, i just dont like pepper). Cook on high for a couple hours and then turn to low until peas break down. There is no need to puree any of the mixture. Basic recipe but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Tasty! I used turkey kielbasa instead of ham hock, and a mix of split peas and red lentils. Added some celery, green pepper sauce, smoke flavoring and red wine. Would have added a potato as well, but we were out. Used beef broth instead of just water. Very man-friendly soup, which was just what I was looking for! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Delicious! Just like my Dad used to make. I followed the recipe exactly. It took the peas longer to break down than I thought it would but when they did it was a wonderful soup. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
very good. i added about 1/2 tsp whole peppercorns to the stock, and cut the ground pepper in the soup to 1/2 tsp. another reviewer suggested adding a diced potato to the soup, which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
As-is, this recipe is rather bland. I added 2 bay leaves, 1/2 t. of celery seed and doubled the garlic before adding the peas and carrots. Before serving, add a splash of balsamic vinegar to each bowl of soup and swirl it for color & zing. Very tasty with a few personalizations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisdom, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I love these straight to the point recipes! It was a nice simple recipe to get my pea soup groove on. I added shallots, celery and thyme just because I had them in the around. Unreal how rich and buttery the split peas will make the soup taste without the addition of butter or cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justlikemymama

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Quick and easy to make. It tastes fantastic! I like the fact that you can make it and enjoy it in the same day. Server with crusty bread and a glass of wine...it doesn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States