Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Tasty! I used turkey kielbasa instead of ham hock, and a mix of split peas and red lentils. Added some celery, green pepper sauce, smoke flavoring and red wine. Would have added a potato as well, but we were out. Used beef broth instead of just water. Very man-friendly soup, which was just what I was looking for! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Delicious! Just like my Dad used to make. I followed the recipe exactly. It took the peas longer to break down than I thought it would but when they did it was a wonderful soup. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
very good. i added about 1/2 tsp whole peppercorns to the stock, and cut the ground pepper in the soup to 1/2 tsp. another reviewer suggested adding a diced potato to the soup, which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
As-is, this recipe is rather bland. I added 2 bay leaves, 1/2 t. of celery seed and doubled the garlic before adding the peas and carrots. Before serving, add a splash of balsamic vinegar to each bowl of soup and swirl it for color & zing. Very tasty with a few personalizations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisdom, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I love these straight to the point recipes! It was a nice simple recipe to get my pea soup groove on. I added shallots, celery and thyme just because I had them in the around. Unreal how rich and buttery the split peas will make the soup taste without the addition of butter or cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justlikemymama

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Quick and easy to make. It tastes fantastic! I like the fact that you can make it and enjoy it in the same day. Server with crusty bread and a glass of wine...it doesn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I simmered my ham bone overnight in my Crock Pot with some onion and carrots then strained it in the morning and added yellow split peas as that is what I had on hand, some onion, about 2 cups of chopped ham, and the garlic. My Crock Pot was about 2/3 full with broth. I added some leftover cooked, chopped baby carrots about an hour before serving. I simmered it on low all day after bringing it to a boil on high. I just needed to add salt and pepper at the end. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
loved it totally exseptable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this and of course added a few extra spices and it was by far the BEST Split Pea soup I have ever had!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mktrampier
Home Town: Fairchild, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Maple, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a good recipe, just as it is ... of course, it's almost exactly the recipe included on the split pea package. I still find myself wishing that reviewers could comment on a recipe without grading it. Sometimes the suggestions are good, but it makes no sense to grade a recipe as 5 star when the changes made have created an entirely different recipe. At any rate, I like the seasonings in plain split pea soup. I probably use more onion, but I love onion. And I like my soup smooth and creamy so I blend it and add a little milk or cream. My kids always liked it over thin buttered egg noodles ... yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States