Split Pea and Ham Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This recipe was perfect for the base, but I don't generally have a whole ham very often, so I tweaked the recipe just a bit. My butcher generally has ham hocks available so I use them to create my broth. He will also cut me a nice thick slice of ham steak that I cube since there is never enough meat on the hocks. I also end up with a lot of broth, so I add two onions and four carrots. With the extra meat and veggies, I still get a nice thick pea soup, even with a single pound of peas. Great recipe thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Shaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Simple. Inexpensive. Nostalgic. Goodness. Stick to the recipe. I had to add in a cup of cubed potatoes because I used too much broth but if I didn't I wouldn't have. This recipe is perfect as-is if you are in the mood for a taste of Grandma's house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VioletSkies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Followed recipe Exact, best pea soup I ever had in my life!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was my first attempt at split pea soup and it was a very simple recipe to follow. Delicious result. The difference for me was, I boiled the ham bone for 4 hours in med high heat. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
It took me 13 years to get my husband to taste pea soup and this was the lucky recipe he tried. Now he requests it often. I do 1/2 the pepper now (it was a little too much for me the first time). I do most in the crock pot and when I add peas and carrots I use the stove top for the recommended amount of time. Sometimes I need to add extra water or chicken broth. This is a great recipe - my husband still hates peas but loves this pea soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W. Stalter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Just what I was looking for...an old fashioned pea soup that takes more than an hour to cook. It's cooking right now and I've modified it a bit so I can't rate the taste yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
We tried this recipe after Easter, when we had a ham bone to use up. This is a simple recipe with simple ingredients that's absolutely delicious. It's very much like my mother's pea soup. It brought back those pleasant childhood memories. This is an excellent soup to have on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie
Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Made in the slow cooker. Placed the ham bone in with water one day and the next day let it cook with all the ingredients. Came home from work and meal ready with a nice loaf of crusty italian bread. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Ok but not terrific, needs spicing up and a lot more cooking time to thicken. Good way to use up the ham though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States