Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Unbelievably great! I thought this wouldn't be good, but boy, was I wrong. It was hearty, tasty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Very good soup! In place of 2/3 of the water, I used chicken broth. I also added diced carrots, a little crushed garlic and diced smoke-flavored SPAM. I didn't need to add any salt. The taste is wonderful. I do recommend stirring occasionally, especially towards the end, to avoid allowing the peas to form a thick paste at the bottom of the pan. I also didn't find I needed to simmer for 2 hours. After only about an hour, the peas were all cooked down, and it was ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
This is wonderful! Easy, economical and delicious. I added carrots and garlic - didn't need the salt. It is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Very thick, rich and delicious! My wife who doesn't like split pea soup, loved this. It is a regular now during the cold winter months. For those who like it not so thick, just add a little water or fat free milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
This is SO easy to make... my girlfriend LOVED it. I added a bit of Tabasco for a little twang. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Really good and easy. I Also add one cup of chopped carrots, two very large garlic cloves,and a little dash of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This recipe was a breeze and produced better than ever soup! I added 1/4# chopped carrots for color and flavor. Very good classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkurman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This recipe is simple, delicious, and inexpensive. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This was SO easy to make, and it turned out SO good! I never thought it could be so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGLIAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
A great basic recipe for getting rid of the hambone. Added 1c diced carrot half way through cooking for variety. As always, this is more delicious the next day after an overnight in the fridge; ready for after sking enjoyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States