Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I absolutely love split pea soup. Growing up, my mom made this all the time. It's so easy to make. Like other reviewers I started using chicken broth. I think this recipe is even better than my mom's recipe. Thank you. Already made it three times. And it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I love split pea soup! I used the ham bone I'd saved from our Christmas ham and I also added 2 carrots and 1 small diced potato. It was so delicious, since my husband doesn't like it I had it all to myself and lived on it for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
My first official from scratch soup ever and I love it! Thanks so much for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Good-to-great recipe. As with nearly all my soups and chowders, I use the pot in pot method with a pressure cooker to reduce cooking time to 20 minutes under pressure with no need to soak split peas. Using a pressure cooker, this soup can be fully prepared and ready to eat in under an hour and have that "next day" flavor. Substitute chicken broth for water for a flavor enhancement. Depending on the size of your pressure cooker, you may need to add liquid after cooking to achieve desired consistency as just covering the ingredients with whatever liquid you use (per the recipe) will leave the soup VERY thick and pasty. Honey baked ham is by far the best ham to use in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Delicious! The only thing different that I did was put some of the juice and glaze from the ham in the pot while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I was not a fan of Split Pea soup growing up. I thought I would try my own twist on it and it worked out. I added carrots, celery, and used half veggie broth half water as suggested by others. It all became a super smooth soup. No worries about it not tasting like pea soup with the other stuff.. It was done sooner than expected so next time I will take off the heat sooner and let it thicken. I made this for my husband who had been looking forward to this after thanksgiving recipe. I will try again and not cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy and coke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Delicious! Very easy and affordable, too. I did not soak the peas at all; just used the slow cooker and it turned out amazing. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I rate this 5 stars using many of the recommendations made in the comments. I added celery, onion, carrots, garlic and just a bit of potato. I used chicken broth instead of water. I had a 10oz ham hock on hand and it provided plenty of flavor. I cooked this slower and longer, cooking med-low (3 out of a 10 dial) for 3 hours. It was a fantastic soup. I added the potato thinking the soup was a bit thin, but as the soup continued to cook, it was unnecessary and will not need to add in the future. I added parsley and a bit of cream just before serving. It was exactly what I was looking for on a cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I've made this soup from my french Canadian Grandmother's recipe for 40 years delicious and so easy. With the ham bone and onions I also add garlic and chopped celery, when the peas are almost done I add whole carrots then break them up with a fork when tender, besides adding colour and flavour it adds nutrition. Just as good with either yellow or green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Surprisingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States