Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made this today in my slow cooker for 6.5 hrs as another reviewer suggested. Holy moly this stuff is amazing! I used chicken stock instead of water and added some garlic as well. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very yummy! My ham bone was larger then what was stated on the recipe so it needed more water to cover it. Because of the extra water, a little salt was needed but added towards the end. Also, some onion powder pepper, and a little adobo. Additional bag of peas would have been nice and I will do next time. I also added some potato's to thicken it up because my husband likes a thicker soup. It was a nice touch but will try it without next time. I will also not add the carrots as early as I did the next time. They became too mushy. All in all, a very yummy soup and I will highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Made in the slow cooker as per other reviewers - thick and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
mmmm Yum! It turned out great! I used a big leftover ham bone and boiled it first to get the meat off and used that juice for the soup. No need for salt with my ham. Served with fresh bread, this is such a healthy and low cost meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
SO tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Waltz - WL Events

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Fabulous! I love split pea and ham soup and this proved to be so easy yet so delicious I'll be making it more often than I thought! I soaked my peas overnight and opted for the crock pot method so there was no need for oil. I just put everything into the crock pot using a chopped ham steak vs. a ham bone along with a couple of dashes of liquid smoke and couple of pinches of celery salt vs. salt. I also used 32 oz. of chicken broth vs. water for a richer flavor. I set the crock pot to high for 2 hours and low for another 4-5 hours. I didn't think it was going to thicken up, but the last hour it came together. Next time I might add some carrots. Great served with warm bread and perfect for cold fall nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
So easy and Super GOOD. I skipped the sautee in oil step and just threw onions, peas and ham bone and some of the ham cut off the bone into the slow cooker. As one reviewer suggests, I put in another full bag of peas about 2 hrs from serving so there were some pureed and some whole but soft peas. I couldn't believe all the kids ate it despite the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
says cover and cook? doesn't tell you at what heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
too thick for my taste. followed recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Threw in veggie broth, the ham bone, left over spiral ham, and split peas. 1 hour later...soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ru Lightcap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States