Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Added celery, carrots, thickened it a little bit with plan to make Irish soda bread to go with it. Green is Irish right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Good, but it took a lot longer than 2 hours for me to get it down to a green liquid. I did soak the beans overnight since there doesn't seem to be a consensus on that. I cooked it for about 4 hours, and some of the peas were soft but were still identifiable as peas. Everything else was exactly as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this soup & it was oh so wondrrful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I substituted turkey bacon for the ham, but it still turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I absolutely love split pea soup. Growing up, my mom made this all the time. It's so easy to make. Like other reviewers I started using chicken broth. I think this recipe is even better than my mom's recipe. Thank you. Already made it three times. And it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I love split pea soup! I used the ham bone I'd saved from our Christmas ham and I also added 2 carrots and 1 small diced potato. It was so delicious, since my husband doesn't like it I had it all to myself and lived on it for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
My first official from scratch soup ever and I love it! Thanks so much for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Good-to-great recipe. As with nearly all my soups and chowders, I use the pot in pot method with a pressure cooker to reduce cooking time to 20 minutes under pressure with no need to soak split peas. Using a pressure cooker, this soup can be fully prepared and ready to eat in under an hour and have that "next day" flavor. Substitute chicken broth for water for a flavor enhancement. Depending on the size of your pressure cooker, you may need to add liquid after cooking to achieve desired consistency as just covering the ingredients with whatever liquid you use (per the recipe) will leave the soup VERY thick and pasty. Honey baked ham is by far the best ham to use in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Delicious! The only thing different that I did was put some of the juice and glaze from the ham in the pot while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States