Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Good-to-great recipe. As with nearly all my soups and chowders, I use the pot in pot method with a pressure cooker to reduce cooking time to 20 minutes under pressure with no need to soak split peas. Using a pressure cooker, this soup can be fully prepared and ready to eat in under an hour and have that "next day" flavor. Substitute chicken broth for water for a flavor enhancement. Depending on the size of your pressure cooker, you may need to add liquid after cooking to achieve desired consistency as just covering the ingredients with whatever liquid you use (per the recipe) will leave the soup VERY thick and pasty. Honey baked ham is by far the best ham to use in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Delicious! The only thing different that I did was put some of the juice and glaze from the ham in the pot while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I was not a fan of Split Pea soup growing up. I thought I would try my own twist on it and it worked out. I added carrots, celery, and used half veggie broth half water as suggested by others. It all became a super smooth soup. No worries about it not tasting like pea soup with the other stuff.. It was done sooner than expected so next time I will take off the heat sooner and let it thicken. I made this for my husband who had been looking forward to this after thanksgiving recipe. I will try again and not cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy and coke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Delicious! Very easy and affordable, too. I did not soak the peas at all; just used the slow cooker and it turned out amazing. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I rate this 5 stars using many of the recommendations made in the comments. I added celery, onion, carrots, garlic and just a bit of potato. I used chicken broth instead of water. I had a 10oz ham hock on hand and it provided plenty of flavor. I cooked this slower and longer, cooking med-low (3 out of a 10 dial) for 3 hours. It was a fantastic soup. I added the potato thinking the soup was a bit thin, but as the soup continued to cook, it was unnecessary and will not need to add in the future. I added parsley and a bit of cream just before serving. It was exactly what I was looking for on a cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I've made this soup from my french Canadian Grandmother's recipe for 40 years delicious and so easy. With the ham bone and onions I also add garlic and chopped celery, when the peas are almost done I add whole carrots then break them up with a fork when tender, besides adding colour and flavour it adds nutrition. Just as good with either yellow or green peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Surprisingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Yummy and easy recipe! I even added chopped carrots for color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I normally do not like split pea soup and I was going to fix this for my daughter and sister.Of course being a sensible cook,I taste what I cook.I really like this soup.It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
My first time making split pea soup and had to guess at some of the instructions ie how high to cook on and having never used a ham hock didn't realize it was all fat. Had hardly any meat in the soup. Nonetheless, I figured out the heat, a little higher than low heat and next time will buy a chunk of deli ham to cut into pieces and add. Not sure still if the ham hock is needed for flavoring so not sure if I need to add that too? Added the carrots, garlic and onion and the flavor was very yummy! Filling , economical soup. Will keep experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3felines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States