Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My first try at this soup. We had a ham bone from Christmas and I didn't want it to go to waste. I found this recipe and it was so easy and just delicious! I doubled it because the ham bone I had was huge and added sliced carrots but that is the only variance I made. It's my husband's new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lwood1964

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Love it. Always make as written first and it was a perfect, simple base. The beauty of I didn't saute my onions. I finely chopped a ham steak and an onion, tossed them in a Ziploc, added liquid smoke and let that marinate overnight. I like a smooth, less thick soup so I added more water throughout cooking. I also added chicken base to the water for more flavor. My seasonings were Beau Monde, garlic hot sauce and smoked black pepper. I cooked the peas down for two hours before I added the ham and onion mixture then cooked another hour or so until I had a pureed soup without having to use a blender or mixer. To serve, I ladle it into bowls, give it a fresh sprinkle of smoked pepper and pat of butter. Tonight it was oyster crackers and garlic toast on the side. SO WONDERFUL! It makes you forget it's 28 degrees outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I started with this recipe and then dumped out the water and trying again with another allrecipes recipe. It says to cover the ingredients with water. So if you include the ham bone, that is pretty high. I dumped in the split peas and thought, no way is this going to work. I like recipes that specifically state the amount of ingredients. Another recipe states 2 qts of water for a bag of peas - that makes more sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Good basic recipe but I think I will have to make some adjustments next time to be really good. I used a smoked ham hock and added 1 tsp. bouillon but I would add more and perhaps some garlic and carrots. I would also increase the water/broth as it was too thick, and I like thick soups! But a good starting point and not bad for my first attempt at split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justin
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
So easy so good so cheap
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very hardy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NatNat
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I been making pea soup for years for everyone to enjoy Personally I don't eat the soup. I think this time ( as I was told ) was the best I have ever made. As in all my recipes I do as I wish I used bacon fat sautéed up onions and carrots left on side to add later to soup . I cooked down the dry peas added ham chunks with ham bone and more bacon fat till peas are cooked down then puréed the peas after removing the ham made a little rue to thick it up then added the onions and carrots my husband enjoyed it very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatNat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This recipe could not be easier or more delicious! I had some leftover ham and decided I really wanted to learn how to make split pea soup from scratch. This recipe helped a lot. It could not be simpler, you just put the dried split peas in a pot, chop up some ham (salty ham is better I think) cover with water or chicken broth (I used water with 4 bullion cubes). I forgot to add the onion but it turned out wonderful even without the onion. If you don't soak the peas (I didn't) it does take almost two hours of simmering, like the recipe says, but that all depends on how thick or dissolved you want your soup. If you're okay with it having a lot of peas still undissolved, you don't have to simmer it more than 40 minutes. Just keep an eye on it and let it simmer until it's the consistency you want it. The salt from the ham made it so I did not have to season it at all!! So Yummy and I will definitely be making this soup all winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Brian thought it was ok. made way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
As someone in another review mentioned, the recipe is minimalist and not much to say about it. I cook the ham and onions, carrots and celery with the ham for at least an hour before adding split peas. I always use Yellow Split peas because it makes a more appetizing appearance when served. ( I think this may be a French Canadian version of the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Grant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States