Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Great recipe! Just like any soup recipe, you can add what you like. I used my slow cooker, threw in potatoes, carrots, and celery and it was fabulous! No need for us to add salt as there was plenty. Also because of the the slow-cooker I didn't cook the onions first. It's a great low-fat alternative to a cream soup that still gives that satisfying creamy texture. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This was really yummy & simple! I added 3/4 cups diced carrot (2 small carrots), 2 stalks celery, and used 4 cups chicken broth & 2 cups water. It turned out great! I put in lots of pepper because I love it. I had ham steak on hand so I used that instead of the ham bone. I love how this is a simple recipe that you can give or take depending on what you have available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
steve likes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
very minimal recipe-its hard to rate the recipe itself when it requires adding so much extra. I always add carrots and celery (not potatoes). I also just pre-soak the peas and rinse them several times. I also use diced up ham chunks in the pre-packages and use a little chicken base to flavor just a little more... After I soak the peas I just throw them in the pot with all the ingredients and cool until it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grafton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Inkster, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
My whole family loved it. Used low sodium chicken broth, added carrots, potato toward end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was my first ever attempt at making pea soup & it came out great. I read a lot of the other reviews & added things like carrots, celery, garlic & some homemade chicken stock which I substituted for some of the water. I already had a ham bone but I also added cubed ham in the last half hour of cook time. My husband and a friend, who happened to be over, loved it & we have PLENTY of left overs!!! The one thing I would caution anyone about is how much water to add - you can always thin it out with more liquid, just be sure to check the instructions on the split pea bag so you don't make it too runny. I had a large ham bone & the recipe said to cover all ingredients. I realized after I added the liquid that I probably had too much & thankfully scooped some out before it started to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Wonderful followed recipe made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
probably should reserve some of the split peas to add later for more texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
WOW!! Like others mentioned, I added 3 cloves crushed garlic and 1 1/2 carrots, finely chopped, and I replaced most of the water for chicken broth. Also, I used the bone and remaining ham from a spiral sliced honey ham we'd had for dinner a few nights before.Be careful with the salt, not too necessary when you make it this way. Very economical if you get the ham on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
We really liked this - I should've cut the yield amount down since there were only two of us but it was really good! Great for the winter months too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States