Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! Simple and delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good and Easy! I use about 7 cups of chicken stock and put in chunks of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used two ham hocks instead of a ham bone because that's all I could find. I let it simmer for 3 hours... I also added some garlic, carrots, celery and chicken broth like other posters mentioned! It was very delicious and perfect for this cold and rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Did jazz it up a little by adding 2 cloves of garlic to the onion and making stock from the ham bone to use instead of water. Also added a little less than a pound of chopped ham, 1/2t pepper, 1/4t each of marojam and thyme, and a bay leaf. Took less than 2 hours for the peas to cook down. Really good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
been making this soup for many a yr, love to put in slow cooker, ham bone, or 2 small ham hocks, (ham hocks take a while to cool and rid of fat and put the smoky meat back in, but I do it when I have no ham bone, liquid smoke is a cop out, but with added garlic bay leaf carrots onion's, and celery, and low sodium chicken stock, it is a 5 star, thank you all for your reviews (oh a few dashes of hot sauce doesn't hurt either, I leave it out if children are eating it (adults can add as much heat as they want)thank-you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I like my pea soup to be savory, not bland, with more flavor, so I always follow my Grandma's recipe: Add a hefty portion of chopped bacon that has been cooked with a chopped onion (and then fat-drained), a bay leaf, carrots, and celery. Sometimes, I'll also some ham bits to the above. Let it all simmer (stirring occasionally). When it's all done, take about half the soup and blend it for a few seconds (with a regular blender or a stick blender) to get a silky texture and prevent "wateriness," then combine that back into the main part of the soup. Be careful not to burn the soup as it's cooking--been there and done that!! It smells like burning leaves and really can't be "rescued"! All the above steps add only a few minutes to the basic recipe. Serve sprinkled with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Yes, I love pea soup. I always add chicken broth and puree a parsnip for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good start. I brown a couple slices of chopped up bacon, then cook onion, a couple cloves of minced garlic and a chopped carrot in the bacon grease. I put this in the crock pot with the smallest shank-end ham I can find (but I love the idea of using a honey-baked ham bone.. I'll definitely try that) along with 2 outer leaves of a head of romaine lettuce, and about a teaspoon of ground black pepper. I let it cook in the crock pot on high for about 4-6 hrs, remove the ham and use my stick blender to smooth it all out. I cut up any ham left on the bone and put it back in the soup after blending, taste for salt and pepper and it's ready to eat with some crusty sour dough bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I like to make recipes as written at leasy the 1st times so Ican rate the actural recipe. This was VERY good. I "get" all the changes folks made such as garlic, a bay leaf, carrots, potatoes, chicken broth, etc but the recipe is quite good, as is. When I make it again, I'll add garlic and a bay leaf because I like the flavor both would add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I love how rustic this was. Full of flavor! Added some cooked ham after the soup was finished simmering. Would not change a thing otherwise. There is something to be said for simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States