Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2000
was extremely tasty! Very easy to make. Goes extremely well with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
This is an easy and wonderful soup. Delicious, warm and filling for cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very easy - just toss into pot and cook! Extremely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil, completely omitted the salt and pepper, and used chicken stock instead of "water." I found the a can of smoked Spam diced works just as well if you're on a budget. Easy to make, and it's usually gone that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WallyPres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
This is SO easy to make... my girlfriend LOVED it. I added a bit of Tabasco for a little twang. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Very good soup! In place of 2/3 of the water, I used chicken broth. I also added diced carrots, a little crushed garlic and diced smoke-flavored SPAM. I didn't need to add any salt. The taste is wonderful. I do recommend stirring occasionally, especially towards the end, to avoid allowing the peas to form a thick paste at the bottom of the pan. I also didn't find I needed to simmer for 2 hours. After only about an hour, the peas were all cooked down, and it was ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
This is wonderful! Easy, economical and delicious. I added carrots and garlic - didn't need the salt. It is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Unbelievably great! I thought this wouldn't be good, but boy, was I wrong. It was hearty, tasty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This recipe was a breeze and produced better than ever soup! I added 1/4# chopped carrots for color and flavor. Very good classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkurman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
Very thick, rich and delicious! My wife who doesn't like split pea soup, loved this. It is a regular now during the cold winter months. For those who like it not so thick, just add a little water or fat free milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States