Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I love how rustic this was. Full of flavor! Added some cooked ham after the soup was finished simmering. Would not change a thing otherwise. There is something to be said for simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Excellent, I soak peas over night when possible. I add carrots, celery and minced garlic..I also use better than bullion ham paste, which enhances that smoky ham flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great classic and simple recipe. Just like mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Simple and delicious. I can't imagine anyone could mess this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I picked this recipe because it was the closest to what my father use to make when I was young. It was right on perfect! Great taste, I did add a little chicken bouillon unlike my father does but the taste was great. Just wished my father lived closer he would loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Pretty good, very Easy. I added bacon, ham and potatoes to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Alan Almas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was a good starter recipe. I did add carrots and celery. Hubby loved him. Since I am a vegan for myself I didn't add oil.I just cook split peas, carrots, celery, onions added quinoa and black beans leftovers. It also tasted good. Will make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakotacabn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I thought this was great....I oversalted though because I wasn't thinking about the ham being salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Recipe was really good, I used homemade smoked turkey instead of ham. Just used the dark meat legs and thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Hearty, delicious soup! My husband and I both loved this. I soaked the split peas overnight, and I did add a couple bay leaves and garlic, and added some leftover ham from Thanksgiving along with the ham-bone--but otherwise followed directions. Best pea soup I've had in years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States