Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
You don't just cut up ham and put IN it. For REAL ham flavor, use what is left of your ham(bones, gizzle, etc) and cook it down with water to make your own ham stock!! Then you use THAT instead of water and the ham flavor is amazing, right along with the split pea.I've been making it this way for YEARS, after every Easter ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
used 2 cans reduced sodium broth and six cups water and one large smoked ham bone. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Added celery, carrots, thickened it a little bit with plan to make Irish soda bread to go with it. Green is Irish right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Good, but it took a lot longer than 2 hours for me to get it down to a green liquid. I did soak the beans overnight since there doesn't seem to be a consensus on that. I cooked it for about 4 hours, and some of the peas were soft but were still identifiable as peas. Everything else was exactly as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made this soup & it was oh so wondrrful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Very good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I substituted turkey bacon for the ham, but it still turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I absolutely love split pea soup. Growing up, my mom made this all the time. It's so easy to make. Like other reviewers I started using chicken broth. I think this recipe is even better than my mom's recipe. Thank you. Already made it three times. And it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I love split pea soup! I used the ham bone I'd saved from our Christmas ham and I also added 2 carrots and 1 small diced potato. It was so delicious, since my husband doesn't like it I had it all to myself and lived on it for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
My first official from scratch soup ever and I love it! Thanks so much for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States