Split Pea and Ham Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Which is better..split green or yellow dried peas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Brian thought it was ok. made way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
As someone in another review mentioned, the recipe is minimalist and not much to say about it. I cook the ham and onions, carrots and celery with the ham for at least an hour before adding split peas. I always use Yellow Split peas because it makes a more appetizing appearance when served. ( I think this may be a French Canadian version of the recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Grant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I didn't soak the peas, I put them straight into a crock pot along with a Honey Baked Ham Bone, reduced sodium chicken stock, onion, celery, carrots, a bit of garlic and pepper. I didn't add salt since most said the ham bone took care of that and they were right. I also added a bay leaf. Not great changes, but it added to the flavor and if I don't have to soak or sauté then it makes it that much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! Simple and delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Good and Easy! I use about 7 cups of chicken stock and put in chunks of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I used two ham hocks instead of a ham bone because that's all I could find. I let it simmer for 3 hours... I also added some garlic, carrots, celery and chicken broth like other posters mentioned! It was very delicious and perfect for this cold and rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Did jazz it up a little by adding 2 cloves of garlic to the onion and making stock from the ham bone to use instead of water. Also added a little less than a pound of chopped ham, 1/2t pepper, 1/4t each of marojam and thyme, and a bay leaf. Took less than 2 hours for the peas to cook down. Really good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
been making this soup for many a yr, love to put in slow cooker, ham bone, or 2 small ham hocks, (ham hocks take a while to cool and rid of fat and put the smoky meat back in, but I do it when I have no ham bone, liquid smoke is a cop out, but with added garlic bay leaf carrots onion's, and celery, and low sodium chicken stock, it is a 5 star, thank you all for your reviews (oh a few dashes of hot sauce doesn't hurt either, I leave it out if children are eating it (adults can add as much heat as they want)thank-you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I like my pea soup to be savory, not bland, with more flavor, so I always follow my Grandma's recipe: Add a hefty portion of chopped bacon that has been cooked with a chopped onion (and then fat-drained), a bay leaf, carrots, and celery. Sometimes, I'll also some ham bits to the above. Let it all simmer (stirring occasionally). When it's all done, take about half the soup and blend it for a few seconds (with a regular blender or a stick blender) to get a silky texture and prevent "wateriness," then combine that back into the main part of the soup. Be careful not to burn the soup as it's cooking--been there and done that!! It smells like burning leaves and really can't be "rescued"! All the above steps add only a few minutes to the basic recipe. Serve sprinkled with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States