Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great soup! We added another extra quart of water and a quart of chicken stock plus one bay leaf. Our ham bone was super meaty (4 lbs meat and bone). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe! I had to modify with what I had on hand but the ratio was great. I added some bacon, basil and thyme with a bay leaf. Also, a little garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I used 32 oz carton of chicken broth and added the water to equal 2 quarts. I also used 2 cups of green split peas and 1/2 cups of yellow split peas and placed everything in crockpot with ham bone and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this today (first time ever making split pea soup) and it turned out excellent. I made 15 servings so I can freeze some. The only thing I did different is add an extra potato, a bay leaf, and some thyme. I used Knorr chicken stock. The flavor of the soup is absolutely amazing. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this recipe yesterday with the recommendation to use chicken stock instead of water. The family seemed to be fans and my husband and son went back for seconds. Next time I might use a little less broth to get a thicker soup. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
really yummy, but thick. I like to thin a bit with some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My sister is a great cook and she loved this soup! I soaked the peas for 8 hours. I cooked all of the veggies at the same time in a BIG pot because I doubled the amount of celery, potatoes, and carrots. Two grated medium Russet potatoes thickened the soup wonderfully. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I was concerned with the flavor issue addressed by others so I decided to be slick. I soaked my peas overnight in 1 qt. of Aldi's Fit & Active chicken broth and 1 qt. of the broth from boiling 3/4 lb. of smoked turkey wings. I then sauteed 1 diced onion in 2 tablespoons of EVOO in my dutch oven and added the peas, broth and smoked turkey wings. I brought it to a boil then a simmer and added the other diced onion and a couple of cloves of fresh minced garlic. I then added a diced red potato, the carrots and celery, the marjoram, and I also added a pinch of oregano and thyme (I didn't add salt or pepper). Everything was cooking wonderfully but was very runny. Then it dawned on me. The peas soaked up the liquid and I had added more liquid to bring the total to 2 qt. I ended up adding an additional 2 cups of peas to get the right consistency (the reason being, as others have commented, peas are not like beans, they absorb liquid and soften quickly). When it finally got there, folks, it was one of the best things I've ever made in my life. Absolutely delicious. My dad and I used to go out for split pea soup at a local restaurant every Tuesday night after work before he passed away. This great recipe brought back those memories. Thanks for sharing it, bluebayou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have never been a fan of split pea soup, I guess it's the color? This recipe was WONDERFUL, my picky son loved it, and everyone asked for seconds. I didn't think it was possible! I did boil the ham bone for 1-1/2hrs before I assembled the recipe, and it turned out nice and flavorful, not too thick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Because the meat counter at my grocery store didn't have a ham bone, I incorporated changes by other reviewers to give the soup more flavor that would be missing without the bone. I sauteed the onions with 2-3 cloves garlic in a little olive oil before simmering with peas. I then added 2 quarts of low-sodium low-fat chicken broth and the peas, and added a bay leaf with the marjoram and the pepper, but skipped the salt because of the broth. I bought a ham steak and didn't want it to dry out, so I didn't add it until the rest of the vegetables went in. The soup was very thick by the end, but easy to thin out in individual bowls (I ran out of chicken broth so I used hot water, but there was no loss of flavor). I also saw that some people removed the ham and blended the soup before putting the ham back in, but we tried it first and liked the texture the way it was. I love split pea soup and this was a great and easy recipe. I can't wait to try it as intended with the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States