Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Easy and delicious. Tweak to your tastes and if it's too thick for you, just add a little soup stock! Hearty and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
First time ever cooking with a ham bone and attempting pea soup. It is delicious! I used chicken stock instead of water, only 1 onion and added a touch to thyme, but everything else just as is. Not disapointed at all, puts Campbells to shame!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eruss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is the second time I have made this. I added another potato and a bay leaf. Also didnt cook it uncovered because I thought it would turn out too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Absolutely delicious. After making it as is the first time I made a couple of adjustments. I used one quart of Kitchen Basics unsalted chicken stock, used 5 carrots, and reduced the split peas to 2 cups. I used 1.5 cups of green split peas and .5 cups of yellow split peas. We have been making this year round because it is so healthy and an easy way to sneak in vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is so good. This was the first time I made split pea soup. I didn't even have enough carrots but the soup was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Ellen Rojas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We always make a double-batch with our New Years' ham, and freeze 5 or 6 containers for dinners in a pinch or to give to friends who are sick. This is probably my favorite all time soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great soup! We added another extra quart of water and a quart of chicken stock plus one bay leaf. Our ham bone was super meaty (4 lbs meat and bone). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe! I had to modify with what I had on hand but the ratio was great. I added some bacon, basil and thyme with a bay leaf. Also, a little garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I used 32 oz carton of chicken broth and added the water to equal 2 quarts. I also used 2 cups of green split peas and 1/2 cups of yellow split peas and placed everything in crockpot with ham bone and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this today (first time ever making split pea soup) and it turned out excellent. I made 15 servings so I can freeze some. The only thing I did different is add an extra potato, a bay leaf, and some thyme. I used Knorr chicken stock. The flavor of the soup is absolutely amazing. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States