Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I, too, do not soak the peas overnight, but I usually start with hot water and cook it on High for the first 6 hours. The thickness of this can vary quite a lot. If it's getting near serving time and it seems too thin, I hit it with the immersion blender. If that doesn't do the trick, I add instant mashed potato flakes--plain or flavored (like loaded mashed potatoes, four cheese, or whatever). It thickens the mixture beautifully and doesn't hurt the flavor at all. If anything, the flavored kinds are actually pretty tasty add-ons. My father *loves* this recipe. Every time I cook a ham, the leftovers are inevitably destined for the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Confession: I never really cared for Split Pea soup when I ordered it in a restaurant; but my boyfriend is a big fan, so I decided to make it after Christmas (to use the leftover spiral sliced ham on the bone from our Christmas dinner). Well, I am officially converted! It was my first time making Split Pea Soup and I have to say that it was EXCELLENT! Thanks for sharing the recipe bluebayou! This one is definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMMYGRRL723

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this recipe last night and didn't change anything. It was good but a bit bland. I think next time I will try chicken or vegetable stock in place of water and a bit more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very yummy & easy!! I didn't like the celery so I leave that ingredient out, but other than that I follow recipe exactly. I also don't soak the peas because the instructions on the bag of dried peas says peas don't need to be soaked. Serve w/ bread & salad & it's a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sacgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very yummy and easy recipe. Got rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattygirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassel, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Can't stop eating this... I boiled the ham bone separate, removed the bone and cut up the meat, then dumped all the veggies, meat, and peas in the broth. Boiled until it was thick. I used more water to start with, and added a bay leaf and garlic. Didn't have the marjoram. I didn't soak the peas, the package said it wasn't necessary. I didn't add the salt, and it was plenty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this soup yesterday and it was a huge hit with the family! I used a vegetable stock instead of plain water for added flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Yummy but I used 1/2 the onion and no marjoram
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I Tried this after I read a few reviews and this was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Ruger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States