Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Yes it's thick, but a delicious recipe. To boost the flavor I always use chicken stock in place of water, and recommend keeping some extra on hand to "thin out" the soup when you serve or re-heat each bowlful. I also chopped up 4 cloves of garlic and added those to the onion, sautéed together before adding ham... and since I cant always get a ham bone, I sometimes use pre-cooked cubed ham from the deli case... that works just fine. Delicious soup, always a hit. Thanks SO much for submitting this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
LOVED this recipe, but made some adjustments to kick it up a notch and make it AMAZING: I used chicken stock instead of plain water, added a pinch of dried basil and a pinch of parsley to the veggies while they were being sautéed, and used a smoked ham steak and cubed it up (since that's what my grocery store had)and reserved half the split peas for the last 30 min of cooking to add texture to the soup. This soup also freezes well and is perfect for pulling out of the freezer to reheat for a meal! We loved this soup and will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
A very good hearty soup. I did however add a bay leaf, as well as a bit more marjoram, to boost the flavor a bit. Overall, it was a big hit. Perfect for a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good , I made it in the slow cooker and used chicken broth , turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Super easy and healthy! I like that most ingredients for this recipe are ones most of us have in their kitchens already. I've never made split pea soup before and my coworkers that I shared this soup with think I'm the best cook ever! Love this soup and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooka324

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Love it make it every time after I have a ham for any holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Thank you, bluebayou, for this excellent recipe that gave me something great to do with the remnants of a Honey Baked Ham. I did not bother with the potato but did add a couple of bay leaves and extra water and came out with a soup that even my toddler-grandchild was crazy about. I'm grateful for your step-by-step instructions that made making this soup foolproof. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Needed more salt and pepper to get flavor. But once that was added the rest was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Great recipe. I always add a couple of chicken boullion cubes, and since I like kick to my soup, I also chop up a couple of jalepenos. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Awesome, threw in ham bone, peas (after I rinsed them) carrots, celery, onions, boullion, pepper, sea salt, fresh chopped garlic and bay leaf. Also had left over pork ribs from the night before, (no bbq sauce on them) boiled them all together and after an hour when everything was falling off the bone, removed bones and cut the meat up smaller, DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hales Corners, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States