Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I've made this a couple of times, and is my go to my recipe for Split Pea soup. Follow it pretty much exactly as stated, and I love how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna vas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I like the consistency of this soup, reminds me of how my mom made it. I did a simplified version: rinsed, but didn't soak the peas, sauteed the onions for a bit before adding the peas, 8 cups of water, spices, and part chicken/part beef bouillon (I lessened the amount of salt). Boiled then simmered 1 1/2 hours and the peas were quite broken down. Added carrots and boiled/simmered for another half hour and it was done in two hours! Also I added some hot sauce for an extra kick since split pea soup can have a monotone flavor, and also due to me not having potatoes or celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Excellent! Followed it to the T. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aefrb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
It was fine, but I'm still looking for a fabulous split pea soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This soup was delicious, and very easy. I followed the directions as is and we really enjoyed it. Thank you1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I did the recipe for what it calls for, although I only had baby carrots. The marjoram can be substituted with oregano. I don't even know what marjoram is, I looked it up and Google came up with it being or being similar to oregano. Much enjoyment while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Good soup but it needs a bit of a kick so I add finely diced red, green & yellow peppers, as well as flakes of bacon (sometimes turkey & sometimes pork). I also remove the celery but add an extra potato & extra carrot to compensate. Lastly I add more spice; a pinch of garlic & of thyme as well as a sprinkle of mustard powder. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe! I cooked the ham in a oven bag, in a crock pot. We used a can of cherry coke and pineapple slices, some of the pineapple juice, brown sugar, and clove spears. In the soup I added pepper, bay leaf and some of the juice from cooking the ham, and the vegetables in the recipe. Wow, what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made a few mistakes due to flying through the recipe too quickly; I didn't measure out the water but instead just eye-balled it so the peas were covered a few inches. I also accidently put the carrots and celery in at the beginning so they cooked the entire time. The celery and onion were all cooked down but there were still visible bits of carrot. Lastly, I added a few bay leaves in lieu of the marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Like many others, I added a bit of garlic (1-2 TBSP minced). I also eliminated the potatoes but added a large slice of maple cured/cooked ham diced into small pieces. Just before serving I added a cup of milk. This is a huge family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States