Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is the second time I have made this. I added another potato and a bay leaf. Also didnt cook it uncovered because I thought it would turn out too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Absolutely delicious. After making it as is the first time I made a couple of adjustments. I used one quart of Kitchen Basics unsalted chicken stock, used 5 carrots, and reduced the split peas to 2 cups. I used 1.5 cups of green split peas and .5 cups of yellow split peas. We have been making this year round because it is so healthy and an easy way to sneak in vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is so good. This was the first time I made split pea soup. I didn't even have enough carrots but the soup was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
We always make a double-batch with our New Years' ham, and freeze 5 or 6 containers for dinners in a pinch or to give to friends who are sick. This is probably my favorite all time soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great soup! We added another extra quart of water and a quart of chicken stock plus one bay leaf. Our ham bone was super meaty (4 lbs meat and bone). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great recipe! I had to modify with what I had on hand but the ratio was great. I added some bacon, basil and thyme with a bay leaf. Also, a little garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I used 32 oz carton of chicken broth and added the water to equal 2 quarts. I also used 2 cups of green split peas and 1/2 cups of yellow split peas and placed everything in crockpot with ham bone and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this today (first time ever making split pea soup) and it turned out excellent. I made 15 servings so I can freeze some. The only thing I did different is add an extra potato, a bay leaf, and some thyme. I used Knorr chicken stock. The flavor of the soup is absolutely amazing. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Made this recipe yesterday with the recommendation to use chicken stock instead of water. The family seemed to be fans and my husband and son went back for seconds. Next time I might use a little less broth to get a thicker soup. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
really yummy, but thick. I like to thin a bit with some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States