Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Delicious! I added more veggies, ham, garlic, more salt and pepper, additional water, and thyme. Killer soup that is great for those with food allergies or those needing to get some hearty veggies and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shae Butta Weaver
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
i just made this..sagood!!! the family loves it! it's not pretty, but it's delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae Butta Weaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I made this exactly like the directions say. It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Since split pea soup is one of my husbands favorite soups, decided to give this a try & came out awesome. Changed the ham hocks for 2 cups of diced Turkey Ham, since that was on hand and used Oregano instead of Marjoram. This is a keeper in my recipe book. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferryal Lackey
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
It doesn't need the salt. The ham salts it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent recipe! I made this with the leftover ham bone from our Christmas honey-baked ham. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and used 1 qt chicken stock and 1 qt water for the broth and it was restaurant quality delicious. I also threw in a bay leaf bc I had one and figured it couldn't hurt. This soup is perfect and hearty enough to eat as a meal with warm crusty bread. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This pea soup is by far THE BEST we have ever had. Although I tweaked it a bit. I used a 1 lb bag of peas with 2 quarts of water, which did make it a bit thick, but we like it that way. Also I used our left over spiral ham that was glazed with brown sugar and honey which added a nice flavor to the soup. I put in maybe 2 cloves of garlic since we love garlic. That might be a bit much to someone else, but I definitely recommend adding garlic. I found that it takes more time to cook than what the recipe says. But the cooking time depends on how well done you like the peas to be. But I can't specify the amount of time I didn't really time it, I just kept it on the stove until they were cooked to my liking. Delicious soup.. I am making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was just okay for us. I wasn't a fan of the carrots in the soup. I think the carrots made it the unappealing color. I have a pea soup recipe I have made for years that doesn't have carrots and the color is much nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Was very bland and extremely watery. After it was done, I took off a 1" layer of water. Also added many extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
A big hit, even with people who hate peas! There wasn't any need to soak the beans. I added extra ham, love the chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States