Split Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I was concerned with the flavor issue addressed by others so I decided to be slick. I soaked my peas overnight in 1 qt. of Aldi's Fit & Active chicken broth and 1 qt. of the broth from boiling 3/4 lb. of smoked turkey wings. I then sauteed 1 diced onion in 2 tablespoons of EVOO in my dutch oven and added the peas, broth and smoked turkey wings. I brought it to a boil then a simmer and added the other diced onion and a couple of cloves of fresh minced garlic. I then added a diced red potato, the carrots and celery, the marjoram, and I also added a pinch of oregano and thyme (I didn't add salt or pepper). Everything was cooking wonderfully but was very runny. Then it dawned on me. The peas soaked up the liquid and I had added more liquid to bring the total to 2 qt. I ended up adding an additional 2 cups of peas to get the right consistency (the reason being, as others have commented, peas are not like beans, they absorb liquid and soften quickly). When it finally got there, folks, it was one of the best things I've ever made in my life. Absolutely delicious. My dad and I used to go out for split pea soup at a local restaurant every Tuesday night after work before he passed away. This great recipe brought back those memories. Thanks for sharing it, bluebayou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have never been a fan of split pea soup, I guess it's the color? This recipe was WONDERFUL, my picky son loved it, and everyone asked for seconds. I didn't think it was possible! I did boil the ham bone for 1-1/2hrs before I assembled the recipe, and it turned out nice and flavorful, not too thick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Because the meat counter at my grocery store didn't have a ham bone, I incorporated changes by other reviewers to give the soup more flavor that would be missing without the bone. I sauteed the onions with 2-3 cloves garlic in a little olive oil before simmering with peas. I then added 2 quarts of low-sodium low-fat chicken broth and the peas, and added a bay leaf with the marjoram and the pepper, but skipped the salt because of the broth. I bought a ham steak and didn't want it to dry out, so I didn't add it until the rest of the vegetables went in. The soup was very thick by the end, but easy to thin out in individual bowls (I ran out of chicken broth so I used hot water, but there was no loss of flavor). I also saw that some people removed the ham and blended the soup before putting the ham back in, but we tried it first and liked the texture the way it was. I love split pea soup and this was a great and easy recipe. I can't wait to try it as intended with the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Yes it's thick, but a delicious recipe. To boost the flavor I always use chicken stock in place of water, and recommend keeping some extra on hand to "thin out" the soup when you serve or re-heat each bowlful. I also chopped up 4 cloves of garlic and added those to the onion, sautéed together before adding ham... and since I cant always get a ham bone, I sometimes use pre-cooked cubed ham from the deli case... that works just fine. Delicious soup, always a hit. Thanks SO much for submitting this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
LOVED this recipe, but made some adjustments to kick it up a notch and make it AMAZING: I used chicken stock instead of plain water, added a pinch of dried basil and a pinch of parsley to the veggies while they were being sautéed, and used a smoked ham steak and cubed it up (since that's what my grocery store had)and reserved half the split peas for the last 30 min of cooking to add texture to the soup. This soup also freezes well and is perfect for pulling out of the freezer to reheat for a meal! We loved this soup and will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
A very good hearty soup. I did however add a bay leaf, as well as a bit more marjoram, to boost the flavor a bit. Overall, it was a big hit. Perfect for a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
So good , I made it in the slow cooker and used chicken broth , turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Angels Camp, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Super easy and healthy! I like that most ingredients for this recipe are ones most of us have in their kitchens already. I've never made split pea soup before and my coworkers that I shared this soup with think I'm the best cook ever! Love this soup and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooka324

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Love it make it every time after I have a ham for any holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Thank you, bluebayou, for this excellent recipe that gave me something great to do with the remnants of a Honey Baked Ham. I did not bother with the potato but did add a couple of bay leaves and extra water and came out with a soup that even my toddler-grandchild was crazy about. I'm grateful for your step-by-step instructions that made making this soup foolproof. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States