Split Pea Soup without Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Really easy recipe, but as other reviewers stated to thicken it up, I used a can of cream of chicken in place of 1 cup of water, I also added curry (by accident at first) and it turns out the curry really adds some flavor. smidgen of celery salt as well. Other than that I didn't soak the peas as the recipe didn't say so, but turned out really awesome. Thank you so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Fantastic! Nice & low calorie too. I added a little onion and thyme. Next time I will add way more carrots because I love them! I subbed veggie broth over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Not amazing but decent and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very nice. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken and added some diced ham at the very end. Cut the water back to 2 cups and then added more near the end to get the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Made this for our first snow day of the year!!!! So good and so easy...I also added smoked turkey wings, a couple of chicken herb ox cubes and a few garlic cloves when the soup was done I took out the smoked turkey wings and added the diced meat back in the soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
awesome~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNCOLLEGEGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I make this soup all of the time and we love it - even my somewhat picky husband and toddler! I made it after having a split pea and barley soup at California Pizza Kitchen. This tastes just like it. I add a little onion and thyme, and half an hour before the end of cooking, half a cup of barley. It's hearty, very tasty, and I love the chewey nutty flavor of the barley. I cook it for up to three hours, and it is never too watery for me. If anything, it is a little too thick. The barely, of course, absorbs some of the liquid. This is a must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Really good base recipe. I added more spices per other reviewers. Sauteed some garlic, onions, carrots and celery in olive oil. Than added the broth, water and split peas and it took about 3 hours to cook down. Good consistency if you just let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I really found this to be a great, hearty soup. I cooked it for around an 1 1/2 hours and the peas really boiled down nicely. I also added 1/2 a diced onion (which boils down right into the soup) and Paprika spice. Its amazing how well the peas and paprika go together! great soup to have handy on those rainy days. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Bombshell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Excellent. I too added 2 slices of cut bacon, about half an onion, omitted celery, garlic powder, PC rosemary seasoning and used vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. I was not a fan of split pea soup prior. But made it for my son. I am now a fan and will would make it again and again! (No need to saute the veggies before hand. I just through everything in a pot and let it simmer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States