Split Pea Soup without Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I added 8 cups of water-no broth. I added double the veggies chopped in the cuisinart. I also added 3 potatoes chopped in the cuisinart. I learned adding the potatoes that I rarely nave to blend before serving. I bring to a boil, cover and simmer most of the afternoon (about 5 hours). I season with pepper, garlic granules,bay leaf and fresh rosemary. When I have company I do add some sea salt--no added salt for just us. This base recipe is the best. I agree with C Turner it is a lot like the Pea Soup Anderson's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Very simple to make and was good! I think it needed some other seasoning besides just salt and pepper but it still was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
1 point for ease of preparation. 1 point for liquid to pea ratio. 0 points for flavor. There are a lot of more flavorful split pea soup recipes on AR. I made it exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
We really liked this. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I wanted a truly vegetarian split pea soup and this was easily modified without changing the essential recipe, so even though I made changes, I still rate this 5 stars -- I am quite certain that made as written it would be a 5 star recipe. I substituted a Knorr Homemade Vegetable stock tub for the chicken broth, increasing the water accordingly (total liquid added was 6 cups, and I added another cup and half during cooking as it was becoming quite thick). The soup came out very very thick after about 90 minutes of simmering. The peas broke down nicely and it would have been good as is, but I used my immersion blender to puree it more. I also added a bit more seasonings than the salt the pepper -- I added Smoked Spanish Paprika and some celery seeds, as well a few drops of Liquid Smoke to give it that "something something" that was missing with no ham in it. It's a pretty easy soup to prep, most of the time is spent "hands off" simmering. Once refrigerated it thickens up more so I add more liquid as I reheat some soup through the week. It became almost never-ending!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Yummmm. I used a whole onion in the recipe, and doubled the celery it called for. I also soaked the peas over night, and only needed to cook it for about an hour. It came out nice and thick. At one point I needed to add some extra water, because it was starting to burn. I added some smoked sea salt to mimic the smokey meaty flavor. I will definitely use this recipe again. As a vegetarian, finding a good pea soup with no meat in it is a challenge. I will make mine home made from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this last night and it was really good but I would definitely use all chicken broth and add much more of it as it comes out way too thick. As the soup sits, it gets very thick so even with the leftovers you will have to add more broth. total broth was about 2 qts. if you cut the amount of split peas, then you can use less broth. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI149

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal (yeah, yeah - I know - I spelleded that wrong). Only change was to a) add a little onion b) saute all veggies in olive oil first, c) added a bit of curry powder and finally d) pureed about half of mix for thicker texture. What a great vitamin packed healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Good basic. Like many others have said, spice it up and cook it longer. I added shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Absolutely thick & delicious. I used my own home-made "vege-rosemary-chicken broth" along with a couple bay leaves as another reviewer had suggested. Also included shredded chicken & diced sweet potato to the recipe. Topped with a couple dashes of tobasco when in my bowl which gave it an extra lil' pizzaz. Very Tastey. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States