Split Pea Soup with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I was really looking forward to making this soup, but it just didn't seem right. I followed the recipe as is and I had to add a cup of water because it was so thick...even after that it still was very thick..I don't know...it wasn't for me..sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Not as good as some split pea soups I have made, but this was good. High in protein and fiber. Will make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Great recipe. I added chopped broccoli and smart bacon. I didn’t add any seasoning beyond some ground pepper (but I love split pea soup). I ended up pureeing the entire mixture for that smooth consistency. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Very very good soup! I'm not a vegetarian and really don't care for tofu, so I took another reviewer's advice and used an avocado to give it the requisite creaminess. I also used extra virgin olive oil and perhaps two extra garlic cloves, and it came out wonderfully. For non-vegetarians, throwing some chopped ham chunks into the cooking liquid will give it a fantastic smoky flavor. Good stuff...thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I added 1 cup of diced rutabaga and increased the broth from 4 cups to 6. I also used frozen spinach instead of fresh (lack of availability) and skipped the blender bit. Instead, I diced very firm tofu and just added it with the spinach and cooked a bit longer. The blender bit gives it a strange kind of green color that's not so appetizing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was a great vegitarian recipe! Even my finicky 3 year old loved it-after being forced to taste it. I ended cooking it a little longer and mashed the peas and potatoes with a potato masher before serving it to give it a creamier texture. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chadfucius

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I made this last week and I would have to say it is 3 1/2 to 4 stars. I made it the night before for a weeknight supper. My kids (ages 6 and 4) complained about it at first (I think because of the color) but they ate most of their big bowls on Thursday and they each had a small cup on Saturday as well. I think the flavored improved as it sat in the fridge. When I was a kid my mom made the most amazing pea soup with leftover ham bones and chunks of ham. I've been a vegetarian for many years now and I miss the full, hearty flavor of that pea soup. I've made pea soups in the past with different herbs, such as thyme and oregano and I never really thought they did the trick. I had my doubts about the basil, but it works quite well. My husband thought it was a very good soup. I will say the tofu does add a bit of a grainy appearance to the whole thing and might cut the pea taste just a little. I don't know if I prefer it over straight-up pea soup, but I would imagine the nutritional content of this soup can't be beat. I must confess I used a very good quality cold-pressed olive oil in greater quantities than called for in the recipe! I'm pretty sure I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Excelent. Never had tofu before, and it was great witht he spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Great, easy recipe for vegetarian split pea. I'm not a big tofu fan, though -- so I substituted 1 ripe avocado for the tofu -- I processed the avocado with the spinach and added that instead. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
very hearty and easy to make. I did not cook it for the whole two hours...it was done in about 1. I also added whole spinach leaves as well as the chopped for a different texture. Good for cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States