Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Love this recipe. Tastes very fresh and I was happy to make it on my own rather than running out to buy it at some restaurant. We are trying to eat home-made all the time now, so I can control the ingredients and be healthier. One thing, I would suggest simmering two to three hours for the peas to break down but if you like them al dente it tastes good after just an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edowney60

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I was living in the UK when I first made this so I had to use "cooking bacon". I'm so happy I stumbled upon as I think it really adds to the soup. The big chunky pieces of bacon compliment the hearty, rustic nature of the soup nicely. The chicken broth I use has basically no salt in it so I didn't have a problem with the sodium content. This was great as it allowed me to use more bacon than the recipe called for. Mmmm bacon. I agree it takes a bit longer to cook than stated, but I find if you cut the veggies really small and also mash them up a bit as they start to soften it helps quicken the overall process. Overall I was not disappointed with this soup. I'm really happy I found this recipe. I have gone back to it numerous times and will continue to use it in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This is one of the best split pea recipes I have ever tried!! We love that it's so simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ba_ns_hee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This soup is simple and fantastic. Love the rosemary and also added some diced ham. I blended about 1/4 when it was cooked just to make creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I have made split pea soup before, but was looking for a less thick version with more vegetables. I used a ham bone for meat, vegetable stock for chicken and the herbs you recommend. Added a taste of bacon bits too. Suggestion for those who want tender peas in and hour to hour and a half - soak your split peas over night or for about 10 hours. They swell and soften and they cook faster that way. I too have problems with the 1 1/2 hours and hard peas (or beans). Soaking came from my grandmother and she was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe. I used turkey bacon for less fat. Just before serving, I put through a blender (avoiding the bacon pieces) for smoother consistency. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was very good. I didn't add bacon and just started sautéing the veggies. I used 3 small leeks a full 16 oz bag of peas and about 42 oz of chicken broth. I added a tsp of salt and pepper. This is very satisfying soup. I froze my batch to pop in the microwave for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by mnr986
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Maybe I was expecting it to be more flavorful. But it is split pea soup, so I know I shouldn't be disappointed. I added some curry to give it a kick but it still wasn't very interesting to eat. A positive is that the soup smelled AMAZING. Changes - I used low sodium chicken broth, turkey bacon, and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnr986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Love this recipe. I cook the peasand the bacon together until peas are soft. Then I purée them and then add the ham. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe as written and it took 3 hours for the peas to cook. No idea where the "1 hour" comes from. Knowing that, however, I'll just plan better because this is definitely a soup I will make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States