Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
WOW! This soup is de-li-cious! The rosemary makes it great and I liked using bacon instead of ham. Also, all the veggies made the soup so different from other split pea soups. I will make this one again, and again, and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
This soup was delicious! Mine came out salty because I used Better Than Boullion instead of regular chicken broth cause I was out - next time I will be sure to use the canned stuff. I also thought it could have used a bit more rosemary flavor - next time I might put in a whole Tablespoon instead of a teaspoon. It was fantastic and we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This was tasty! I had to make a few adjustments since I used what was on hand. I shredded the carrots (I can sneak it past my kids) instead of chopping, I didn't have any leeks so I thinly sliced 2 ribs of celery, added 2 thinly sliced ribs of celery (with leaves)...my rosemary had seen better days so I had to use thyme instead. Even with my changes it was tasty! Next time I will try to make it as is, so I can review the recipe in it's 'pure' form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Yum! Thanks for the recipe! I had substituted bacon for turkey bacon and it came out great! You can also add ham base for more flavor vs chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
It's easy to prepare, smells wonderful, and my husband absolutely loves it. I used dried rosemary, and served it with cornbread. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent! Instead of bacon I used a leftover ham bone from Thanksgiving. I threw it all in a crockpot, cooked it all day, and then puréed it in the blender. Be very careful how much salt you add as the ham should have most of what you need. Save the salting for last. If you do oversalt, simply mix in small amounts of heavy cream after you purée.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I love this simple, satisfying soup. I use pepper bacon for a nice kick, and add lots of fresh ground pepper to the broth. I use two 32oz boxes of low sodium chicken broth for a nice balanced consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is really good. I love the idea of rosemary in my pea soup. However, this soup was VERY salty. Not sure if I did something wrong??? I would cut back on the bacon if you are not a fan of salty dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RLANDESMAN
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Excellent, no-hassle soup. I didn't have leeks or carrots and thus left them out, and it was still delicious. I only added a leaf or two of fresh sage and a sprinkle of fresh thyme. My split peas took about 1.5 hours to cook, and I simmered a further hour or so on very low heat to let the flavors develop. It was even better reheated on the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Rosemary is my new favorite so I thought I would give this a try. Glad I did. I had never had pea soup before and I was plesantly surprised with how good it was. I did not have bacon...didn't know I was out so I used a bit of turkey kielbasa. The results were fantastic. My husband couldn't wait to take the leftovers for lunch. Even the kids liked it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States