Split Pea Soup with Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe. I used turkey bacon for less fat. Just before serving, I put through a blender (avoiding the bacon pieces) for smoother consistency. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This was very good. I didn't add bacon and just started sautéing the veggies. I used 3 small leeks a full 16 oz bag of peas and about 42 oz of chicken broth. I added a tsp of salt and pepper. This is very satisfying soup. I froze my batch to pop in the microwave for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by mnr986
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Maybe I was expecting it to be more flavorful. But it is split pea soup, so I know I shouldn't be disappointed. I added some curry to give it a kick but it still wasn't very interesting to eat. A positive is that the soup smelled AMAZING. Changes - I used low sodium chicken broth, turkey bacon, and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnr986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Love this recipe. I cook the peasand the bacon together until peas are soft. Then I purée them and then add the ham. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Tried this recipe as written and it took 3 hours for the peas to cook. No idea where the "1 hour" comes from. Knowing that, however, I'll just plan better because this is definitely a soup I will make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Delicious and easy to make soup! I removed the bacon from the pan after it was done cooking as I did not want it to burn while the veggies were cooking, then added the bacon back along with the broth. I added some chopped acorn squash since I had it on hand and it was a very tasty addition. Also added about a 1/2 teaspoon salt a little pepper when it was done cooking. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This soup is wonderful. I'm making it right now for probably the fifth time. The aroma is intoxicating! I normally add sliced rookworst (smoked sausage)to make it more Dutch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Good. I added potatoes. Since I didn't have bay leaves I subbed thyme, however I wasn't in love with the flavors -- I was thinking it was the rosemary I didn't like, but it could have been the thyme or the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
best in the west----don't get any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Extremely Tasty Soup! The only thing different was that I forgot the Rosemary and it still came out real delicious! I will make again tomorrow (after a few weeks since I've first made it) and will keep it as a normal recipe in my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States