Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
This is the best Split Pea Soup I've ever had. I love the different ingredients that make this soup so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This is absolutely phenominal....GREAT RECIPE... split pea soup can be bland.......this one has just the right "punch" !!! One of my favorite recipes ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Add a couple of diced carrots and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This is by far the best pea soup I've ever had, though I made some changes. I used 1/2 lb bacon instead of hamhocks (since I had it in my freezer already), frying the bacon in the stockpot, disposing of 1/3 the grease and reserving the crispy bacon for garnish later. After the grease was cool, I added the rest of the ingredients. I did take the bay out after 1/2 hour of simmering (afraid of too strong a taste) and reduced the amount of milk at the end as I thought this soup was too thin for my taste. I doubled the simmer time and it turned out just thick enough. I will use this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNPUNCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Best split pea soup I ever made. It is easy to make and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
My Aunt told my Uncle "Honey, this is even better than mine!" Excellent, easy recipe and perfect consistency if you don't like it thick! (I left the Bay leaves in until the end and it was fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Have never make soup from scratch before and this was incredibly easy. If you like split pea soup I couldn't recomend this more highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I really liked this soup, even though I goofed it up a bit. I put in 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper instead of red pepper flakes. It was too hot for my wife. Also cut back on water and added sour cream dollops to each bowl instead of adding milk. Also used bacon to replace ham since I think it gives a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
I cut the water back by 2 cups and the soup still came out a little too thin for us but the flavor was very good and hubby & kids all enjoyed it very much. I think next time I will cut down on the dill just a bit and cut out either the pepper flakes or the hot sauce because it was just a tad too hot for my taste. I will also cut out the chicken bouillon powder (in favor of more chicken stock instead of water) as it seemed to make it too salty. Overall, a very good soup that I will no doubt make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Good recipe. Have made several versions with bacon, hamhocks, and ham bones. I prefer using smoked hamhocks and I always add some small diced boiled potato, carrots and about a cup and a half of cooked ham slice to the pot after I cream it. Makes it a little heartier and serve it with garlic bread and a salad. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States