Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Cut water by half - used 1 lb bacon and a diced ham steak instead of ham hocks - added 1/2 teaspoon sage - added liquid smoke - added carrots - doubled hot pepper sauce - dropped soy sauce - A very potent, rich tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
The end product was not bad, but I had to make some inflight adjusts to get there... after an hour cooking, I still had lots of broth, so I pulled it off, almost a quart! So I suggest not adding the water. Also, I added extra meat and more potatoes than called far and it was still that much extra liquid. When I pureed the 6 cups and added the milk, the result was pretty good... could have used some more spice... also, the dried split peas I used (HEB) called for a cooking time of 30 minutes, so they were pretty mushy after an hour, even before the puree. I will probably add them later next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this recipe. I hadn't made split pea soup before because no one would eat it except me. When I found out my new boyfriend loves it, I decided to make some. Easy and SO yummy. It was a little runny for my liking so I added some instant mashed potatoes to thicken it up. Next time I will just add more potatoes. Flavor was MMMM good. Served with a salad and made fresh bread that day. Great Winter meal. Thanks William.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Deff. read the reviews before you start. I also used about 1/2 the water and added rice towards the end. Could have used a bit more pepper flakes or hot pepper sauce, but it was delich!! Hubby raved about it. I also cooked it in a crock pot for about 6 hours (high to start, then on low for about 4 hours). I threw in some leftover turkey from Thanksgiving too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mardell Mitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Like everyone else, I cut the water in half and still found the soup to be far too watery and had to cook until the soup had reduced. However, the flavors were excellent and I will make this again but this time without any water at all. I wonder if there is a typo with the quantities. It calls for 2 cups of split peas which seems far too little with 16 cups of liquid. I noticed my standard bag of split peas was 2 pounds, not 2 cups, and this would have made the ratio about right since even the cooking directions on the bag say to add 6-8 cups water for each POUND. Anyway, next time I'll either make 2 pounds worth or cut the total liquids (broth, water & milk) in half while keeping the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I followed the recommendations that others have left (i.e. I used half the water and added celery, carrots, and a bunch of fresh herbs - rosemary, thyme, oregano, and sage all tied together). I didn't have the hot chili oil or the dill so ommitted those ingredients too. This soup was delicious. I never write reviews, but this soup inspired me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Overall, this had a nice flavor, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed. It didn't thicken nearly as much as I thought it would. Use much water. It was also a bit too dilly for me, and I love dill. I'd cut the dill by half, but I don't think we'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was very good! It is a wonderful recipe, but I think it's one of those that will be tweeked for one's own taste. I used all the chicken broth called for in the recipe, but only a cup or two of water. I added a half cup of cream in place of the milk. I increased the hot sauce and red pepper flakes by two or three times and I used my hand held blender to puree the peas along the bottom of the pan for a minute or two. Although I used the bone from my Easter ham, I think I will add a little liquid smoke next time. Thankyou! thankyou! for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Dill isn't something I would have thought of but it really adds a wonderful flavour to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States