Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Cut water by half - used 1 lb bacon and a diced ham steak instead of ham hocks - added 1/2 teaspoon sage - added liquid smoke - added carrots - doubled hot pepper sauce - dropped soy sauce - A very potent, rich tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
The end product was not bad, but I had to make some inflight adjusts to get there... after an hour cooking, I still had lots of broth, so I pulled it off, almost a quart! So I suggest not adding the water. Also, I added extra meat and more potatoes than called far and it was still that much extra liquid. When I pureed the 6 cups and added the milk, the result was pretty good... could have used some more spice... also, the dried split peas I used (HEB) called for a cooking time of 30 minutes, so they were pretty mushy after an hour, even before the puree. I will probably add them later next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buda, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this recipe. I hadn't made split pea soup before because no one would eat it except me. When I found out my new boyfriend loves it, I decided to make some. Easy and SO yummy. It was a little runny for my liking so I added some instant mashed potatoes to thicken it up. Next time I will just add more potatoes. Flavor was MMMM good. Served with a salad and made fresh bread that day. Great Winter meal. Thanks William.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Deff. read the reviews before you start. I also used about 1/2 the water and added rice towards the end. Could have used a bit more pepper flakes or hot pepper sauce, but it was delich!! Hubby raved about it. I also cooked it in a crock pot for about 6 hours (high to start, then on low for about 4 hours). I threw in some leftover turkey from Thanksgiving too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mardell Mitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Like everyone else, I cut the water in half and still found the soup to be far too watery and had to cook until the soup had reduced. However, the flavors were excellent and I will make this again but this time without any water at all. I wonder if there is a typo with the quantities. It calls for 2 cups of split peas which seems far too little with 16 cups of liquid. I noticed my standard bag of split peas was 2 pounds, not 2 cups, and this would have made the ratio about right since even the cooking directions on the bag say to add 6-8 cups water for each POUND. Anyway, next time I'll either make 2 pounds worth or cut the total liquids (broth, water & milk) in half while keeping the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I followed the recommendations that others have left (i.e. I used half the water and added celery, carrots, and a bunch of fresh herbs - rosemary, thyme, oregano, and sage all tied together). I didn't have the hot chili oil or the dill so ommitted those ingredients too. This soup was delicious. I never write reviews, but this soup inspired me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Overall, this had a nice flavor, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed. It didn't thicken nearly as much as I thought it would. Use much water. It was also a bit too dilly for me, and I love dill. I'd cut the dill by half, but I don't think we'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was very good! It is a wonderful recipe, but I think it's one of those that will be tweeked for one's own taste. I used all the chicken broth called for in the recipe, but only a cup or two of water. I added a half cup of cream in place of the milk. I increased the hot sauce and red pepper flakes by two or three times and I used my hand held blender to puree the peas along the bottom of the pan for a minute or two. Although I used the bone from my Easter ham, I think I will add a little liquid smoke next time. Thankyou! thankyou! for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Dill isn't something I would have thought of but it really adds a wonderful flavour to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States