Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this recipe. I hadn't made split pea soup before because no one would eat it except me. When I found out my new boyfriend loves it, I decided to make some. Easy and SO yummy. It was a little runny for my liking so I added some instant mashed potatoes to thicken it up. Next time I will just add more potatoes. Flavor was MMMM good. Served with a salad and made fresh bread that day. Great Winter meal. Thanks William.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Deff. read the reviews before you start. I also used about 1/2 the water and added rice towards the end. Could have used a bit more pepper flakes or hot pepper sauce, but it was delich!! Hubby raved about it. I also cooked it in a crock pot for about 6 hours (high to start, then on low for about 4 hours). I threw in some leftover turkey from Thanksgiving too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&M in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Like everyone else, I cut the water in half and still found the soup to be far too watery and had to cook until the soup had reduced. However, the flavors were excellent and I will make this again but this time without any water at all. I wonder if there is a typo with the quantities. It calls for 2 cups of split peas which seems far too little with 16 cups of liquid. I noticed my standard bag of split peas was 2 pounds, not 2 cups, and this would have made the ratio about right since even the cooking directions on the bag say to add 6-8 cups water for each POUND. Anyway, next time I'll either make 2 pounds worth or cut the total liquids (broth, water & milk) in half while keeping the other ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I followed the recommendations that others have left (i.e. I used half the water and added celery, carrots, and a bunch of fresh herbs - rosemary, thyme, oregano, and sage all tied together). I didn't have the hot chili oil or the dill so ommitted those ingredients too. This soup was delicious. I never write reviews, but this soup inspired me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Overall, this had a nice flavor, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed. It didn't thicken nearly as much as I thought it would. Use much water. It was also a bit too dilly for me, and I love dill. I'd cut the dill by half, but I don't think we'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This was very good! It is a wonderful recipe, but I think it's one of those that will be tweeked for one's own taste. I used all the chicken broth called for in the recipe, but only a cup or two of water. I added a half cup of cream in place of the milk. I increased the hot sauce and red pepper flakes by two or three times and I used my hand held blender to puree the peas along the bottom of the pan for a minute or two. Although I used the bone from my Easter ham, I think I will add a little liquid smoke next time. Thankyou! thankyou! for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Dill isn't something I would have thought of but it really adds a wonderful flavour to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Family favorite! I leave it chunky, omitting the blender. My little ones love it too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
exceptionally tasty soup, highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLOSSUM79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Yum! I didn't add all of the water and added 1 cup of orzo the last 15 minutes instead of potatoe. But otherwise a very tasty and filling soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States