Split Pea Soup Atu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is by far one of the best Pea soup recipes I have ever made puréeing at the end was key! I did cut the water and half though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I love pea soup and this is a good recipe. I cut the entire recipe in half but not the peas - used 2 cups of split peas. Also added carrots and celery. Consistency was perfect. I like a medium thickness and that was the result. I did not use the red pepper flakes or hot pepper sauce. Next time I may try one of them to spice it up just a bit more or use the whole onion and white pepper. Overall a good pea soup that I will save to my recipe box and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Was very good never had pea soup before. Maybe next time will cut back to 1 tablespoon of chicken bouillon and soy sauce. Also, didn't have potatoes so I used 1 cup instant mash potatoes b/c they are going to boil down for thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I also cut back on the water. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My 14 year old son made this soup for dinner and it was awesome. He added carrots, celery and paprika to it but otherwise he left the rest of the recipe alone. He has 2 younger brothers who tend to be picky and they both loved it! Will definitely be making this again, maybe next time, I'll get to help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I made this soup a few days after Xmas, using the hambone from our dinner. It was my first time making pea soup and I wanted an easy recipe to follow. This recipe is not only easy to follow but is by far the BEST pea soup I've ever had. I followed the directions but also paid attention to the reviews that others had shared. I cut the water in half, using only 4 cups instead of 8. I used 5 potatoes instead of only 2. I included 3 celery stalks, a bunch of shredded carrots and all of the other spices recommended (garlic powder, parsley, thyme, marjoram & sage). At the end I used only 1 cup of milk, instead of 2. I also only pureed ham, potatoes and carrots from the stock pot that hadn't thinned out. It was wonderful. I highly recommend! 5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Made it according to the recipe and gave it 4 stars. Too thin and too much dill. Made it again, halving the water and the dill; added garlic and thyme and would now rate it 5 stars. My husband loves it and have had requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Delicious! We used 4 cups of chicken broth and 6 cups of water. Also used 2 smoked ham hocks, then threw them away as they didn't have any usable meat on them. Halved the amount of dill called for (which was plenty!). Pureed with the stick blender then added 1/2 to 1 cup diced ham. Also subbed 1% milk for whole milk. Everyone, especially my 6 year old son who hates vegetables, raved about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Different and very tasty. I've made this a few times and it is always a crowd pleaser. I prefer using the ham bone after a honey baked ham dinner, usually after Thanksgiving, Xmas, or Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Adjusted the following way: we used diced ham and sauteed with the onion first, decreased the broth/water for a thicker soup, cut the dill to 1t, and left out the bouillon and soy sauce. Simmered for one hour before adding 2 diced carrots with the potatos, then simmered another hour before adding a can of evaporated milk. No need to puree. Very, very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States