Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I loved this so it is only for me!!!!!!!!!!!!! Family did not so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
The reviews are great! I like different opinions and ideas myself. Overall I always look at recipes as a guide. I have this two thumbs up! The ingredients mixed well as the sauce bursted with flavors. The olives alone provided the perfect balance of salt, as well balanced out sweetness. Going to use the rest of sauce for different dishes that call for, such as lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very good, as long as the meat is drained before adding to the rest of the sauce - I think it would be a little too greasy otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This sauce is PHENOMENAL!!! I am not a fan of olives, so I left them out. I put this all together at around 7:00pm and let it cook on low all night long. The slow cooker finished "cooking" and reverted to the "warm" mode all day while I was at work. This recipe is definitely a "keeper". For the wine, I used a cabernet as the wine element... the flavor was rich, and with the cayenne pepper - YOWSAH! This sauce is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Excellent!! Delicious!! Superb!! I used chardonnay b/c I didn't have red wine, bell pepper and zucchini instead of mushrooms, capers instead of olives, and chicken sausage instead of Italian b/c that's what I had on hand. I'm not recommending changing things, but this recipe can definitely be adjusted easily to accommodate your preferences or the ingredients you have in the fridge! The recipe is fabulous and I will definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
The best spaghetti sauce I have ever cooked. Worth all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I will likely try this recipe as it sounds really good and very adaptable. As for the texture of the sauce that some have commented on, marinara sauce from my understanding is more of a soupy-non clingy type of sauce- so this sauce is behaving as it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Made this for a meeting at our house. Even though I cooked 2 boxes, I ran out of spaghetti, so one person just used some garlic bread to sop up a serving. I did modify it some. I hate mushrooms and olives, so I left those out. I doubled the garlic, as we really love garlic. My son doesn't like meat sauce, so I used meatballs instead of sausage, and added them with about an hour left to cook, after browning them in a skillet. I did turn the cooker onto high heat for that last hour, as the meat balls were pretty big. I thought it was a little thin, but everyone loved it. It was quite a bit of prep work to get it in, but well worth it. I have maybe a quart leftover, as I had also made an alfredo sauce, primarily for my daughter, but the others enjoyed it too. Fed 9 adults, 1 teenage boy and 3 kids. Even the 6 month old got a few nibbles from his dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Delicious I made the recipe as published. What I don't get is people taking off stars and not making the recipe as published. I mean, people, if you have a different recipe post it, but don't change a recipe and say it wasn't good. It's a 'recipe' for a reason. Changes you make and review are NOT the recipe as posted. Makes it hard for interested cooks to get a good interpretation of the recipe *as posted*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I added 1C parmesan/romano cheese and omitted olives and cumin, per my own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States