Spintz Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lmeggins40
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
This may be the best cake I've ever made. I made it for my son's 17th birthday and it was a HUGE hit. The combination of chocolate, a hint of coffee, and peanut butter, along with the moist texture is heavenly. I followed other reviewers' recommendations and used 3 layers. I also doubled the peanut butter mix and added a good bit of cream to make it creamier and less chewy. Because I was running short on time, I used store-bought frosting, would have been better to have home made. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Delicious cake! Had to use a bit more cream for the filling and frosting but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. This recipe is definitely a keeper and I'll be making this many more times. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ottley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
too dry and i followed the directions precisely. also i suggest 3 layers to compensate for the dryness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I made this for my 30th birthday and it was the best cake I've ever had. The only modification I had to make was for the peanut butter filling. It was not creamy enough after following the recipe so I doubled the amount of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made this for my Dad's 65th Birthday. He loved it. Followed the directions exactly and the cake came out perfect. My almost 5 year old usually never eats the frosting off of anything but this, she only ate the frosting. She did try a bit of the cake, but loved the frosting. I could see how some people would think the filling and frosting is to thick. I didn't mind as I hate frostings and fillings that are too runny. Will definitely make again. Amazing with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I too was very disappointed in the dryness of the cake. I liked the filling, but I did follow another's advice and added more peanut butter and 8 oz of cream cheese. It was light and fluffy then. All in all though it was a disappointment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I've made this recipe a lot. It is so moist and wonderful! I have made a couple of changes after making it the first time. I add more cream to the peanut butter layer and make it in 3 pans instead of two. I also cut each cake into two layers and layer the filling in between every layer making it a six layer cake. It's magnificent!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommytoallgirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I did the cake portion of this recipe and it was excellent. Reminded me a lot of the "one bowl chocolate cake" on this website...but better. Can be put with any frosing, I did a bundt cake and ate it as is. Very moist and better even the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Yum! Yum! Awesome chocolate cake. Very rich, very moist, and the filling and frostings are delicious. Very impressed. Although some of my cake stuck to my pan (guess spray 'n bake does not work in stead of greasing and flouring pans). The frosting also seemed a bit "heavy" for the cake, or I lathered it on too much because pieces keep on falling off the main cake piece. BUT even though I did not manage to get it looking really pretty, it is incredibly awesome in taste. Going to make it again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
this was fabulous. it is perfect if you are a peanut butter addict. the filling looked pretty nasty when i was making it - all clumpy and an odd color, but tasted wonderful. i made it for my husband to bring to work for a friend's birthday - and got many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States