Spinach with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was "OK." Made this side dish to go with blue cheese, chive and bacon stuffed pork chops by DOMMECHEF that I prepared for my bf and I tonight. The two complemented each other very well. I modified Beth's recipe slightly to add flavor as other reviewers warned of an overpowering blue cheese taste. Here's what I did: a) fried 3 strips of bacon, crumbled and added to the spinach mixture, b) sauteed onion in bacon grease instead of EVOO and c) sauteed 2 cloves minced garlic with the onion. I decided to use gorgonzola cheese in place of blue (it is a bit milder), but ended up using too much of it for the pork chops, so I subbed a bit of blue cheese (which I also had available) and used what was left of the gorgonzola. This is very easy to prepare (kudos!). The finished product is similar to a "jazzed up" version of creamed spinach. Try it - you might like it :) Thanks for sharing Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very pleasant flavor. As others have done, I added some baby bella mushrooms, and cut back some on the cheese. Overall a very nice dish. All the flavors meld very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was delicious! Like others, I used some baby bellas, and substituted gorgonzola for the roquefort... and it melted deliciously for a smooth, subtle sauce. I definitely recommend this -- great & versitile for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Made this last night for my parents, and we all LOVED it!! My dad is one of those who really likes something or really doesn't, and it was a hit with him! Had to make one change though, none of us like blue cheese, so I used sun-dried tomato bazil mozzarella, and it was WONDERFUL!! Thank you for a recipe that I will be using over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi and Buddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Claremont, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
oh my was this good... my husband warned me to hurry up and get what i wanted of it because it was about to be all on his plate! very , very good. i did add splenda to it and used freshly shredded parm cheese instead of other cheese.. also added a chicken bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Ooh, this was sooo good! I loved it, and my husband liked it. He dosen't even like bleu cheese. To make it extra good AND bad I cooked up a couple of pieces of bacon and added it. However, I used fresh spinach. That balances it, right?:) This is a super easy weeknight dish or a great side for company that will pull the wool over their eyes! Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I just made this and must say it was delicious! I used the diced tomatoes with green chilis mild version and switched out the blue cheese for feta (just sounded better). This is a quick and easy dish that tastes great. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
YUM YUM! Based on prior reveiws, I sauteed the onion w/garlic & baby bellas, then added about 3/4's of a can of diced tomatoes and the spinach. Tossed w/blue cheese just prior to serving. The only change I will make is I will use less blue cheese next time; it tasted great, but it's strong enough I can cut some fat/calories w/out sacrificing taste. What a great, easy, healthy, inexpensive side dish! Thanks for a new staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
My husband thought this was okay. I did not care for it. I followed the recipe and added garlic based on another recommendation. Even with the garlic and cheese I did not think it had enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States