Spinach with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
YUM YUM! Based on prior reveiws, I sauteed the onion w/garlic & baby bellas, then added about 3/4's of a can of diced tomatoes and the spinach. Tossed w/blue cheese just prior to serving. The only change I will make is I will use less blue cheese next time; it tasted great, but it's strong enough I can cut some fat/calories w/out sacrificing taste. What a great, easy, healthy, inexpensive side dish! Thanks for a new staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I used about 3/4 package of fresh spinach, chopped, and used parmesan and pinenuts, as another reviewer suggested. I thought it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I just made this and must say it was delicious! I used the diced tomatoes with green chilis mild version and switched out the blue cheese for feta (just sounded better). This is a quick and easy dish that tastes great. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Very tasty side dish which family enjoyed. My husband liked it, admitting had I just served cooked spinach he probably wouldn't have eaten any! I think I'll try fresh spinach next time for more vitamins. I used fresh Parmesean instead of the other - it's still a strong flavor and worked well. I grilled the leftovers on toasted multigrain bread with mozzarella melted on top the next day - and it was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Did this with 20 oz. chopped spinach, only one can of drained diced tomato, and a full cup of blue cheese. Skipped the onion, threw in some old bay seasoning, salt and pepper--perfect. It was "scarfed down" by spinach haters, blue cheese haters, and tomato haters, all of whom loved it. Probably six ways from Sunday to vary this with excellent results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Made this last night for my parents, and we all LOVED it!! My dad is one of those who really likes something or really doesn't, and it was a hit with him! Had to make one change though, none of us like blue cheese, so I used sun-dried tomato bazil mozzarella, and it was WONDERFUL!! Thank you for a recipe that I will be using over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi and Buddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Claremont, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was a tasty, different side dish. I made a few modifications for our family. I sauteed the onion with garlic and mushrooms, used fresh spinach and feta cheese instead of Roquefort. Next time I will cut down on the tomatoes, maybe half a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Yum, this was so good! I added mushrooms, used a fresh tomato instead of canned and a bag of fresh spinach. Hubby and I really liked the blue cheese flavor. So quick and good! Thanks for sharing. Made this again with a can of Rotel and feta cheese. That was really good too. The Rotel gave it a nice kick. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
oh my was this good... my husband warned me to hurry up and get what i wanted of it because it was about to be all on his plate! very , very good. i did add splenda to it and used freshly shredded parm cheese instead of other cheese.. also added a chicken bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Did a few mods to this recipe. Added some pancetta and garlic while cooking the onions and substituted parmesan for blue cheese. Overall thought recipe was pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States