Spinach with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I really liked this idea of adding cheese to sauteed spinach. I make spinach often and went with my standard formula (1tbsp butter, 1tbsp olive oil, an onion and 2 cloves garlic with 10oz fresh spinach leaves, seasoned with Penzey's Berbere cayenne pepper mix and salt). I am not a fan of moldy cheeses so I subbed feta with great results. Just 3oz of cheese is perfect like the recipe states. Thanks so much for sharing, we will definitely be making spinach this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This was a very good recipe. I tried not to make many changes but i didn't have any Roquefort cheese. The only changes I made was I used parmesan cheese and I used rotel tomatoes instead of just plain tomatoes. Very good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this as written except I used fresh spinach and 2 oz bleu cheese. I wish I had kept the cheese at 3 oz, but either way it was well worth it. This also only took minutes to make, which is always nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was actually pretty good--I was a bit concerned, as we aren't huge fans of cooked spinach or tomatoes, but it worked out relatively well for us. I didn't have blue cheese; used feta instead and it was good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was delish. I added some minced garlic, parsley and oregano to the onions. I used fresh parmesan cheese. Will be a favorite in our house!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
The canned tomatoes did not complement the spinach at all. Maybe fresh veggies would have been better. This was not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Very tasty. Will cook again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was a great quick and healthy side dish. I added minced garlic in with the onion as I sautéed it, and used fresh tomato and spinach. It doesn't take much more work to use fresh ingredients, but it makes it healthier and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I can't believe how good this was! I was looking for a new veggie side dish when I came across this one. The mix of ingredients sounded strange (although I had everything on hand!) I used two 12 oz packages of fresh spinach and I used crumbled blue cheese and added bacon as recommended by other reviewers. My husband and daughter both loved it! I used the leftovers the next day by putting them on some black pepper and Parmesan focaccia bread that I cut in half and topped with provolone cheese. Baked for 10 min to melt the cheese and toast up the bread, it was another home run for mommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colton, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
i make spinach very frequently, and it's usually just steamed with some garlic and EVOO. this was definitely a different spin, and the tomatoes added a depth of flavor that really made this different from the usual spinach side dish. i used fresh spinach and fresh tomatoes instead of canned and frozen, which i can only imagine helps the flavor tremendously as well. my only other change was to add some garlic. very simple, healthy, and delicious spinach! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States