Spinach with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I haven't made this particular recipe but I have been making one similiar to it. I read the reviews and a lot said it was too oniony and not enough pecan. I actually use more onion and spinach but instead of chopping the onion and only cooking til tender, I caramelize the sliced onions first with butter or olive oil and a pinch of sugar. Then add the spinach, omit the water, then add pecans. The sweetness of the caramelized onions works really well with the nutty flavor of pecan and the spinach absorbs both flavors. My 2 yr old and 4 yr old love to eat their spinach this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
this tasted really good but made as is it would only serve 2 and is pretty onion-y. I would recommend doubling the amount of spinach and leaving the other measurements the same. This would make a wonderful "bed" for sauted chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This was very quick and easy. My husband was hoping it would have a stronger pecan flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
We loved this recipe! I omitted the onions and substituted whole garlic cloves like Carraba's does (I think I spelled that right). Look out Popeye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This turned out great, but I did make some changes. I caramelized the onions and then removed them from the pan adding them back to the spinach after it was cooked. Instead of water I cooked the spinach with a mixture of chicken broth, oyster sauce and sesame seed oil. The pecans were delicious and added a nice crunch. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Really tasty! Definitely add more spinach. They wilt and come down to almost nothing. I used almost a whole bag, less water and more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This recipe was good but it did not have as strong a pecan flavor as I would have liked. My fiance, who does not like pecans, actaully enjoyed it. So for pecan lovers, I would suggest adding some more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA
Living In: West Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is good. I decided to toast the pecans and top the dish with them as other reviews wished for more of a pecan taste. That worked for me. Used a tad less onion and decreased the water to a Tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I agree that it needs more spinach, less onion, and more pecans! But the flavors are great. It makes a really good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Easy & Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States