Spinach with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Needs a little salt. But very good especially with my garden fresh spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanea Rucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This turned out great, but I did make some changes. I caramelized the onions and then removed them from the pan adding them back to the spinach after it was cooked. Instead of water I cooked the spinach with a mixture of chicken broth, oyster sauce and sesame seed oil. The pecans were delicious and added a nice crunch. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is good. I decided to toast the pecans and top the dish with them as other reviews wished for more of a pecan taste. That worked for me. Used a tad less onion and decreased the water to a Tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Really tasty! Definitely add more spinach. They wilt and come down to almost nothing. I used almost a whole bag, less water and more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I agree that it needs more spinach, less onion, and more pecans! But the flavors are great. It makes a really good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Easy & Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I haven't made this particular recipe but I have been making one similiar to it. I read the reviews and a lot said it was too oniony and not enough pecan. I actually use more onion and spinach but instead of chopping the onion and only cooking til tender, I caramelize the sliced onions first with butter or olive oil and a pinch of sugar. Then add the spinach, omit the water, then add pecans. The sweetness of the caramelized onions works really well with the nutty flavor of pecan and the spinach absorbs both flavors. My 2 yr old and 4 yr old love to eat their spinach this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This recipe was good but it did not have as strong a pecan flavor as I would have liked. My fiance, who does not like pecans, actaully enjoyed it. So for pecan lovers, I would suggest adding some more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Kentucky, USA
Living In: West Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I found this recipe - if cooked exactly as described to be too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Island City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Good basic spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States