Spinach with Apples and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Well, I love pine nuts, apples, spinach and garlic, so I knew I wasn't taking any chances trying this recipe. I was right, it's fantastic! A great combination of flavors. The only thing I changed was the cooking method. I cooked the pine nuts in the oil on medium-high heat until they started to brown, then turned the heat down to low and added the apples and garlic. This insured that the pine nuts were toasted (which is important to enjoy their flavor fully) and the garlic didn't get too brown (which can make it bitter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ecco_Star
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I think toasting pine nuts before adding olive oil would be better. Also make sure to cook the apples on low or they become very mushy. Very good with pork chops:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ecco_Star

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I added a little of crumbled feta cheese at the end right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Yummy. Per other reviewers, I used a green apple, added some chopped sun-dried tomatoes to the saute and feta cheese at the end. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This would be good to make as a simple yet impressive looking side dish. I was surprised that the apples ang garlic went so well together. I toasted the pine nuts to bring out the flavor, I think that helped a lot. Pine nuts aren't my favorite, so I might experiment with other nuts next time...perhaps toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Added 8 oz sliced mushrroms, roasted brussels sprouts, sun dried tomatoes, sliced almonds (not pine nuts), and garlic. Make sure you use like a tsp of nutmeg, since there is spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very good & I love that it is a simple, tasty way to eat healthy foods. I followed the recipe exactly, but wish I would have gone with my gut to toast the pine nuts first. Oh well, next time! Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I toasted the pine nuts before adding the oil, like others recommended. To prevent the apples from turning mushy, I cooked the garlic for a minute prior to adding the apples. This is a very easy and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Not too amazing of a side dish, but it was decent. I'd recommend toasting the nuts before adding them to the pan, they don't really get a chance to brown too well with the other things. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. Next time I will double the amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States