Spinach with Apples and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Very good & I love that it is a simple, tasty way to eat healthy foods. I followed the recipe exactly, but wish I would have gone with my gut to toast the pine nuts first. Oh well, next time! Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I added a little of crumbled feta cheese at the end right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
5/3/08 excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Very simple and very tasty. I would suggest toasting the pine nuts first on a higher temp and then lower heat. I would also suggest a firm, crisp apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Fantastic!!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Yummy. Per other reviewers, I used a green apple, added some chopped sun-dried tomatoes to the saute and feta cheese at the end. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very Tasty! Great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I toasted the pine nuts before adding the oil, like others recommended. To prevent the apples from turning mushy, I cooked the garlic for a minute prior to adding the apples. This is a very easy and tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Well, I love pine nuts, apples, spinach and garlic, so I knew I wasn't taking any chances trying this recipe. I was right, it's fantastic! A great combination of flavors. The only thing I changed was the cooking method. I cooked the pine nuts in the oil on medium-high heat until they started to brown, then turned the heat down to low and added the apples and garlic. This insured that the pine nuts were toasted (which is important to enjoy their flavor fully) and the garlic didn't get too brown (which can make it bitter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
What a great combination of flavors, and a great way to eat some nutritional foods. I found the salt and pepper to be necessary to bring out all of the other flavors. I toasted the pine nuts, as recommended by other reviewers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States