Spinach and Yogurt Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I hate it when people don't follow a recipe yet give review for it! Yet, here I go, sharing in case it could help someone else... There's nothing wrong with this recipe, I just had loads of fresh spinach and wanted to use some of it by making soup, and am vegetarian, so used 16 oz of fresh spinach. I had no yogurt so used a little sour cream. I whizzed raw spinach in a blender before cooking (which necessitated using extra water) and used onion powder instead of fresh onion in the interest of time. Love the nutmeg in it. Being vegetarian, I used water, food yeast, garlic, salt and olive oil instead of chicken broth. When done, I thickened it a bit with instant potato flakes. Using fresh spinach, I added extra water. We really enjoyed this and plan to make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Delicious and easy to make. I added a little less yogurt and 3 tbsp. of light sour cream for richness. I added a tablespoon of vinegar during cooking to make up for the creaminess of the sour cream. A suggestion for serving: crumble hard boiled egg over soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beecee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I am eating a hot, delicious cup of this soup as I type thie review and I am in LOVE! I tweeked it a little to my liking. Used my own array of spices, added mushrooms and a few slices of cajun bacon! Garnished with a little bit of shredded cheese. YUM! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haeli Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewistown, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
reminds me of a healthy cream of spinach soup. i amped it up with a ton of garlic and parmesan. i believe it is a good starting canvas which can be quite delicious once you doctor it up to your taste. i will make it again. with a red garnish such as tomatoes or red peppers this could be a fun holiday dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Good stuff! It turned out great, I did make a few slight alterations: I added garlic nixed the tarragon used veg broth instead (i'm a vegetarian) I only used 1.5 cups of broth and 1/2 cup of cream Instead of lemon slices I topped with grated asiago and parmesan....delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Surprisingly delicious! I used olive oil instead of butter, and I didn't have any tarragon at home. I also reduced the amount of yogurt by a little bit, just to retain the spinach flavor. This recipe's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I loved it! Very tasty and exotic, I will make it as often as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adolfo
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was easy to make but we didn't really like the flavour. I love spinach but this was not tasty like spinach should be. We did use fresh spinach right out of the garden & not frozen. We won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
good flavor; lumpy consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This soup was so easy to make, delicious and ultra healthy. I love spinach and am always looking for easy ways to add some to my diet. This soup is easy to double and keep in the fridge for an easy vegetable serving anytime. Thanks to whomever posted this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States