Spinach and Yogurt Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
It was very easy and tasted good. I omitted the onion. I added a couple dashes of lemon juice to the mix instead of garnishing with wedges. Next time I would omit the salt and set some cooked spinach aside so there could be some chunks in it. I love cooking with yogurt as opposed to heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was ok. I appreciated the ease of preparation and the unique creamy texture. I doctored up the recipe a bit by adding 2 cloves of garlic, increased amounts of herbs and spices, and some crushed red pepper. I also added a teaspoon of fresh lime juice and a touch of cream at the end. Topped with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. Overall it was pretty good with all of these modifications. I served it with corn bread (it's what I had in the pantry), but I think it would be good with homemade parmesan croutons on top. My initial thought on the color was that it would be a fun starter course for a St. Patrick's Day meal. Also, I didn't like the tarragon in it. Maybe next time I will try a little fresh basil. I'm willing to try it again, but I don't think it will become a frequent dish at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Ok. I thought this was a really weird line up of ingredients. Just so happens I had some plain yogurt and fresh spinach in the fridge that were about to get tossed so I figured why not try it. It turned out great. Really tasty! I added some garlic but other than that, made it exactly as the recipe calls. I will definatly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
If you can get past the somewhat nasty appearance of this dark green soup, it actually tastes pretty good. I used fresh spinach rather than frozen, and I substituted sour cream and some leftover cottage cheese for the yogurt. Topped it with a tablespoon of sour cream and some bacon bits. Not bad to go with a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I LOVE THIS SOUP! I've made it 3 times now and eat it all myself. My family's a little afriad to try it with me, but i don't mind, more for me! Great healthy soup with terrific flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Great tasting and healthy! Super combination! Everyone thought this sounded awful! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using fresh spinach instead of frozen! The results were fantastic! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
simple and divine! I love it, and use fresh spinach instead. It was so good I made it two nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
It was okay. My husband turned his nose up at the idea of me serving him spinach soup for dinner, but he actually went back for a second bowl... so I give it 4 stars. I ended up adding some egg noodles because it seemed a little plain all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was pretty good for how quick and easy it is. I made it as the directions said, then when I served it I thought it needed a little oomph so I added some crushed red pepper flakes, It was yummy and had a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Estero, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This was incredibly easy to make and tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States