Spinach and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Fantastic! I've made this a few times and it is always a big hit. I use baby spinach and I don't bother cooking it. I just toss it in. When the spinach is mixed in the salad, the dressing naturally wilts as if it were cooked. I would highly recommend doing it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
345 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Fabulous pasta salad! It's simple and delicious! It's so easy to put together, yet tastes like something you'd find at a gourmet deli. I used fresh tortellini and fresh spinch vs. frozen. I also threw in some roasted red peppers along with the cherry tomatoes and olives. I used shredded Parmesan and for the dressing I chose "Nonna's Tuscan Salad Dressing" from this site. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This was a hit at our ladies luncheon! Very colorful; nice light, Italian taste. I used about 4-5 ounces of finely chopped fresh spinach, uncooked, a little more parmesan cheese than called for, a little more tortellini, and not nearly as much salad dressing (less than half of the 16 oz bottle). I used those little sweet 'grape' tomatoes and didn't cut them in half. It sat for a little bit (about an hour and a half) which I think was good. Let the tortellini soak up all the flavors. Thanks so much for this recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Simple and classy - a "gourmet deli" pasta salad. Refreshingly different from the typical mayonnaise based pasta salads. I used refrigerated tortellini, fresh baby spinach, chopped Roma tomatoes and my own vinegar and olive oil dressing. Beautiful colors of the Italian flag! Nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is definitely a keeper! I took the advice of other reviewers...used 8 oz. Wishbone Robusto Italian, added chopped roasted red peppers, diced red onion, fresh spinach and some Italian seasoning. Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was a huge hit. I used fresh baby spinach as other reviewers suggested. I am not sure it would be any good with frozen. I also used two seeded and diced Roma tomatoes and about a cup of sliced mushrooms. I also use a honey garlic vinegrette that I also got off this site. The sweet taste of the vinegrette went really well with the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I love this recipe! I added some grilled chicken to it, and used fresh spinach instead. I absolutely love the fact that it's so easy to make and doesn't make a big mess to clean up afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
I made this salad for Christmas dinner and it was the biggest hit of the evening.....Guests were taking second and third helpings. I used the frozen spinach, which I didn't like using (too messy), so I will use the fresh spinach and red onion today. Very colorful and very tasty.....Highly recommended...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I used fresh baby spinach (uncooked) more tortellini and Wishbone's Robusto Italian salad dressing. Husband was leery at first but ended up getting seconds and saying he would like to have this again. PLEASE NOTE!! The recipes states "use enough salad dressing to coat". It DOES NOT SAY use the whole bottle. Please read the recipe before giving it a bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Delish! I brought it to our annual neighborhood "Blocktober Fest" and it was well recieved. I tripled the recipe, used one 16 oz. bottle of Wishbone Robusto Italian dressing, grape tomatoes (so there was no need to cut them) & added chunked salami. I also used only 5 oz. of fresh spinich just barely cooked, yum. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States