Spinach and Sweet Corn Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Delicious. Only change was I added cheddar cheese and used this as filling in pierogies. My best pierogies yet. Pierogi dough: beat 1 egg in 1/3 cup water, add 2 cups flour and 1/2 tsp salt. Rest 10 minutes. Roll and cut into 3-inch squares. Flatten and fill a square with the mixture and then fold onto a triangle pressing edges firmly. Cook in boiling water 3 mins. then toss in pan of heated butter until slightly brown and crisp. My 7 yr-olds love it and I got spinach and corn in them. Yes!!! We had no leftovers for a family of 4 and I even had to make 2 doughs. Try it. Yumm. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
We absolutely loved this Michele! As strange as it is, I didn't have any corn in the house, so I had to leave it out. I used frozen chopped spinach, added more seasonings to the potato mixture, (garlic and onion powders and a little cayenne) and added parm cheese. I also sprinkled the top with more parm and some paprika. Once in my casserole dish, I placed it under the broiler for a couple of minutes to brown the top a little. Thanks again for a different way of serving mashed potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
Delicious!!!! My family all "icked" at the thought of spinich in the potatoes.....I served this for Easter dinner and increased it to 20 servings - I had 18 people for dinner and we had no leftovers!! The kids and the adults all loved it and wanted the recipe. I found that after mixing everything together it could remain in the oven in a covered dish before serving and it still tasted fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
We loved this! I used B size Yukon Gold potatoes, which gave this dish a natural butter flavor and subbed in 1/2 and 1/2 and frozen chopped spinach. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! I used russet potatoes, and added extra garlic and butter.These only lasted one day! It's a delicious change of pace, and you're serving three vegetables at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEGSCOOKIN
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Yummy potatoes! This was my first ever attempt at mashed potatoes and I impressed both my husband and myself! I omitted the corn and used soy milk instead of cream and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
I added about a handful of shredded cheddar too. My husband said these were the best mashed potatoes he had ever had! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I didn't have fresh spinach on hand, so I tried the recipe with frozen spinach. The results were not as good as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
i found this recipe by chance on your site.i needed to take a potato dish to a supper and wanted something different. boy i got it .everyone loved this dish!even the children loved it.it's so easy!!!please try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Try it with chopped frozen spinach if you want to save some time chopping! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States