Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Really easy and very tasty! Few changes: used chicken broth, oil packed tomatoes, doubled the garlic and pepper flakes, and added about a tbsp of fresh basil. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRACY K
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
One of my favorites ... very simple to prepare and tasty! I omit the pine nuts as a personal preference, substitute dehydrated tomatoes with julienne cut sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, no need to presoak them and adds great texture and flavor, and drizzle additional olive oil as the final step to moisten the pasta a bit. Serve with garlic bread and a glass of wine ... sophisticated simplicity. Prepare to impress! Photo available on my profile page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very good, very simple. I added some artichoke hearts and a little salt to taste. Toast the pine nuts and use 1 Tbsp per serving. As others have said, I would add a lot more spinach. Thanks, one of the quickies for my recipe box. I may add some chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is great as written but if you have a little extra time I'd reccommend soaking the sun dried toms. in redwine and chicken broth and throw in roasted minced garlic to the broth & wine- very aromatic!Leave them in about 1 hour. Also this recipe converts nicely in to a great dolled up version of Meditarrean Cous Cous dish. Just sub-in Cous Cous in place of the Penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Ok...this was just plain AWESOME!!!! I made one addition...MUSHROOMS!!!!!!!!!!!! This dish was just screaming for them! Otherwise, did not alter anything...yum...yum..yum...YUM!!!!!! Kudos to Madball! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was really really good. I didnt have penne so i used angel hair, and i also used the sundried tomatoes in oil. I sauted 4 cloves of garlic in a little oil, added spinach and tomatoes, and about 1 1/2 cups of the starch water from the pasta and 1/2 tsp of chicken broth seasoning. It was GOOOOOD! i personally used a little more sundried tomatoes because i love them, i couldnt stop munchin on this after dinner it was soo good topped with an italian cheese blend! thank you~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I can't wait to make this again with penne. I used ditalini b/c I had it on hand. Also I used chicken broth (well actually bouillon mixed with water b/c that's all I had…shhh) - just popped it in the microwave for 2 minutes then let sit w/tomatoes for 15. I added an extra clove of garlic, but next time I won't and only had 1/2 a bag of baby spinach, but could have used a whole bag. Didn't have pine nuts but I’m sure it would be perfect with them. Topped with gruyere and parmesan - DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This pasta recipe is PERFECT! It was easily adaptable, simple to prepare and looked beautiful in the serving bowl! Here were my substitutions: I had no broth so I used water. I used sun dried tomato spread instead of chopping tomatoes~ made a nice sauce! Also, I had no pine nuts so I substituted slivered almonds. I will definitely make it again and throw in some chicken next time. Thanks for a great, healthy, family friendly recipe! Whip up a batch with a crusty loaf of bread and a nice salad and people will think you put much more effort into it than you really did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Lacking depth as is. If you want to make this dish taste like fine restaurant quality, do not reconstitute the sd tomatoes. Eliminate the broth altogether. Boil your penne to al dente. Then saute your garlic, onion, & red pepper flakes. After that, toss ALL ingredients together (do NOT pre-wilt the baby spinach, add it raw), and add in FRESH LEMON JUICE ("that extra something") and enough olive oil to very lightly coat, and maybe some cooked shrimp for a main course. It is also good with toasted walnuts if you don't want to spring on pine nuts. Sprinkle with FRESH shredded, not grated, parm or none at all. It will make the flavors pop instead of melting in or tasting powdery. This is how I made it for a dinner special as a restaurant cook and it was my most requested dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I loved this dish. I did substitute white wine for the vegetable broth. Even the leftovers were yummy. I think I might add some fresh mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States